Search

Technical Report NTB 99-04

Experimental Studies of Cs, Sr, Ni and Eu Sorption on Na-illite and the Modelling of Cs Sorption

Order

  • hard copy, English
    CHF 30.00

Download

Details

A natural illite (illite du Puy) was purified and converted to the homo-ionic Na-form. The conditioned Na-illite was characterised in terms of its mineralogy, chemical inventory and physico-chemical properties. The structural formula was determined from energy dispersive spectroscopic analyses (SEM/TEM-EDS) and bulk chemistry measurements. A cation exchange capacity of 127 meq kg-1 was determined by the 22Na isotope dilution method at neutral pH. The Na-CEC was also measured as a function of pH. The stability of Na-illite as a function of pH in the range ~3 to ~6 was investigated. At low pH values partial dissolution of the illite occurs releasing the structural elements Al, Si, Mg, and K into solution. The presence of Ca and Sr in solution was interpreted as being due to desorption from cation exchange sites. All of these elements are also present at neutral pH but at considerably lower levels. Such effects cannot be avoided and must be considered in the interpretation of the sorption measurements.

The main focus of the experimental work presented here is on the sorption behaviour of Cs, Sr, Ni and Eu on conditioned Na-illite as a function of NaClO4 background electrolyte concentration (0.1 and 0.01 M), nuclide concentration and pH in the range ~3 to ~11. Sorption edge data (Rd versus pH) and sorption isotherms (quantity of nuclide sorbed versus equilibrium nuclide concentration) are presented for these four elements. Prior to beginning these experiments, sorption kinetics were measured. The broad based pool of sorption measurements generated from this work will provide the source data sets for subsequent modelling.

So far only the Cs sorption measurements have been modelled. A two site cation exchange model was developed to describe the sorption of Cs over the whole range of experimental conditions. The two site types were termed “frayed edge sites” (FES, high affinity/low capacity) and “type II sites” (low affinity/high capacity). Selectivity coefficient values for NaCs Kc {FES}, NaK Kc {FES}, NaH Kc {FES} and NaCs Kc {II} are given for illite together with the corresponding site capacities.

Have your say and visit us.

Follow us

Telephone

+41 56 437 11 11


©2021 Nagra, National Cooperative for the Disposal of Radioactive Waste

Search

Technical Report NTB 99-04

Experimental Studies of Cs, Sr, Ni and Eu Sorption on Na-illite and the Modelling of Cs Sorption

Bestellung

  • gedruckt, englisch
    30,00 CHF

Download

Details

Ein natürlicher Illit (Illite du Puy) wurde gereinigt und in die homo-ionische Na-Form überführt. Der konditionierte Na-Illit wurde hinsichtlich der Mineralogie, des chemischen Inventars und der physikalisch-chemischen Eigenschaften charakterisiert. Die Strukturformel wurde mit Hilfe energiedispersiver spektroskopischer Analysen­methoden wie SEM/TEM-EDS und einer chemischen Gesamtanalyse bestimmt. Die Kationenaustauschkapazität wurde mittels 22Na-Isotopenverdünnungsanalyse bei neutralem pH-Wert zu 127 meq kg-1 bestimmt. Die Stabilität des Na-Illit in Abhängigkeit des pH-Wertes im Bereich von pH ~3 bis ~6 wurde untersucht. Bei tiefen pH-Werten tritt eine teilweise Auflösung des Illits unter Freisetzung der Strukturelemente Al, Si, Mg und K auf. Der Nachweis von Ca und Sr in der Lösung wurde auf die Desorption dieser Elemente von den Kationenaustauschplätzen zurückgeführt. Alle diese genannten Elemente sind auch bei neutralem pH-Wert nachweisbar, jedoch in viel geringeren Konzentrationen. Solche Effekte können nicht vermieden werden und müssen bei der Interpretation der Sorptionsmessungen berücksichtigt werden.

Das Hauptaugenmerk der in diesem Bericht vorgestellten experimentellen Arbeiten lag auf dem Sorptionsverhalten von Cs, Sr, Ni und Eu an konditioniertem Na-Illit in Abhängigkeit der NaClO4 Elektrolytkonzentration (0.1 bis 0.01 M), der Nuklidkonzentration und des pH-Wertes im Bereich von pH ~3 bis ~11. Die Rd -Werte aus der pH-abhängigen Sorption und die der Sorptionsisotherme (Menge an sorbiertem Nuklid in Abhängigkeit der Gleichgewichtskonzentration dieses Nuklids) werden für die obengenannten Elemente vorgestellt. Bereits vor diesen Messungen wurden die jeweilige Sorptionskinetik bestimmt. Das umfangreiche Datenmaterial aus diesen Sorptionsmessungen dient als Quelldatensatz für die nachfolgende Modellierung.

Bislang wurden nur die Cs-Sorptionsdaten modelliert. Ein zwei «Sites» Kationenaustauschmodell wurde entwickelt, um das Sorptionsverhalten von Cs innerhalb des gesamten Bereiches der experimentellen Bedingungen zu beschreiben. Die beiden möglichen «Sites» werden «frayed edge sites» (FES, hohe Sorptionsaffinitiät, geringe Sorptionskapazität) und «type II sites» (geringe Sorptionsaffinität, hohe Sorptionskapazität) genannt. Selektivitätskoeffizienten für NaCs Kc {FES}, NaK Kc {FES}, NaH Kc {FES} und NaCs Kc {II} sowie die zugehörigen Sorptionskapazitäten werden für Illit bestimmt.

Reden Sie mit und besuchen Sie uns.

Diskutieren Sie mit

Telefon

+41 56 437 11 11


©2021 Nagra, Nationale Genossenschaft für die Lagerung radioaktiver Abfälle