Search

Technical Report NTB 98-03

Large-scale Experiment for Water and Gas Transport in Cementitious Backfill Materials (Phase 1) COLEX I

Order

  • hard copy, English
    CHF 40.00

Download

Details

In the planned Swiss repository for low- and intermediate-level radioactive waste, the voids between the waste containers will be backfilled with a highly permeable mortar (Nagra designation: mortar M1). As well as providing mechanical stability through filling of voids and sorbing radionuclides, the mortar must divert gases formed in the repository as a result of corrosion into the neighbouring host rock. This will prevent damage which could be caused by excess pressure on the repository structures. Water transport, which is coupled to gas transport, is also of interest. The former is responsible for the migration of radionuclides.

Up till now, numerical simulations for a repository situation were carried out using transport parameters determined for small samples in the laboratory. However, the numerical simulations still had to be validated by a large-scale experiment. The investigations presented here should close this gap.  

Investigations into gas and water transport were carried out using a column (up to 5.4 m high) filled with backfill mortar. The column has a modular construction and can be sealed at the top end with a material of defined permeability (plug or top plug). The possibility to vary the material of the plug allows the influence of the more impermeable cavern lining or possible gas escape vents in the cavern roof to be investigated. A gas supply is connected to the bottom end and is used to simulate different gas generation rates from the waste.  

A total of 5 experiments were carried out in which the gas generation rate, the column height and the permeability of the plug were varied. Before the start of the experiments, the mortar in the column and the plug were saturated with water to approx. 95 %. In all the experiments, an increase in pressure with time could be observed. The higher the gas generation rate and the lower the permeability of the plug, the more quickly this occurred. At the beginning, only water flow out of the top of the column was observed. Only after the saturation of the mortar had dropped to approx. 80 % could gas be detected flowing out of the column. This gas flow was not continuous but occurred in pulsed intervals.  

The experimental investigations were then numerically simulated and the results compared with those from the experiments themselves. This demonstrated that, with the transport parameters used up to now, the experiments could be simulated, sometimes resulting in a very good correlation with the actual tests. Extensions to the numerical model are suggested, which will allow simulation of phenomena not yet implemented in the model.

Have your say and visit us.

Follow us

Telephone

+41 56 437 11 11


©2021 Nagra, National Cooperative for the Disposal of Radioactive Waste

Search

Technical Report NTB 98-03

Large-scale Experiment for Water and Gas Transport in Cementitious Backfill Materials (Phase 1) COLEX I

Bestellung

  • gedruckt, englisch
    40,00 CHF

Download

Details

Im geplanten schweizerischen Endlager für schwach- und mittelaktive Abfälle werden die Zwischenräume zwischen den Abfallcontainern mit einem hochpermeablen Mörtel (NAGRA Bezeichnung: Mörtel 1) ausgefüllt. Neben der mechanischen Stabilisierung durch das Verfüllen der Hohlräume und der Sorption von Radionukliden hat er die Aufgabe, die im Endlager durch Korrosion entstehenden Gase in das umgebende Wirtgestein abzuleiten. Dadurch können Schäden vermieden werden, die durch einen allfälligen Überdruck an der Kavernenkonstruktion entstehen könnten. Neben dem Gastransport ist der damit gekoppelte Wassertransport von Interesse, der für den Transport von Radionukliden verantwortlich ist.

Die bisher durchgeführten Modellierungen für den Gas- und Wassertransport im Endlager basierten auf Transportparametern, die an kleinen Mörtelproben im Labormassstab ermittelt worden waren. Eine Validierung der numerischen Simulationen anhand eines Experimentes in grossem Massstab fehlte jedoch bisher. Die hier vorgestellten Untersuchungen sollen diese Lücke schliessen. 

In einem experimentellen Teil werden anhand einer mit Verfüllmörtel gefüllten Säule (bis zu 5.4 m hoch) Untersuchungen zum Gas- und Wassertransport vorgenommen. Die Säule ist modular aufgebaut und kann am oberen Ende mit einem Material definierter Permeabilität (Abschlusspfropfen) abgeschlossen werden. Mit diesem variablen Abschluss kann der Einfluss des dichteren Kavernenausbaus oder allfälliger Gasauslassöffnungen (Vents) im Kavernenfirst studiert werden. Am unteren Ende ist eine Gaszufuhr angeschlossen, mit der definierte Gasproduktionsraten der Abfälle simuliert werden können.  

Es wurden insgesamt 5 Versuche durchgeführt, wobei die Gasgenerationsrate, die Säulenhöhe und die Permeabilität des Abschlusspfropfens variiert wurden. Der Mörtel in der Säule sowie der Abschlusspfropfen wurden vor Versuchsbeginn auf ca. 95% aufgesättigt. Es zeigte sich in allen Versuchen ein Druckanstieg mit der Zeit, der mit zunehmender Gasgenerationsrate und abnehmender Permeabilität des Abschlusspfropfens rascher erfolgte. Zu Versuchsbeginn wurde nur ein Wasserfluss aus der Säule beobachtet. Erst nachdem die Sättigung des Mörtels bis auf ca. 80% abgesunken war, wurde auch ein Gasfluss aus der Säule festgestellt. Der Gasfluss erfolgte nicht kontinuierlich sondern in Intervallen pulsartig.  

Im Anschluss wurden die durchgeführten experimentellen Untersuchungen numerisch simuliert und die numerischen mit den experimentellen Resultaten verglichen. Es zeigte sich, dass mit den bisher verwendeten Transportparametern die Versuche z. T. in guter Übereinstimmung simuliert werden können. Nachfolgend werden Erweiterungen des numerischen Modells vorgeschlagen, um Phänomene simulieren zu können, die bisher im numerischen Modell nicht implementiert sind.  

Reden Sie mit und besuchen Sie uns.

Diskutieren Sie mit

Telefon

+41 56 437 11 11


©2021 Nagra, Nationale Genossenschaft für die Lagerung radioaktiver Abfälle