Search

Technical Report NTB 97-08

Coprecipitation of radionuclides: basic concepts, literature review and first applications

Order

  • hard copy, English
    CHF 30.00

Download

Details

Coprecipitation of radionuclides with solid alteration products is currently not analysed quantitatively in safety assessments for nuclear waste repositories, although this process is thought to be an important mechanism for limiting nuclide concentrations in solution. This is due to the fact that neither the solid phases controlling coprecipitation nor the parameter values necessary to describe this process are known sufficiently.

This introductory report provides basic knowledge on this subject and a review of experimental data from the literature. Emphasis is placed on experiments of trace metal coprecipitation with calcite, because this mineral is a dominating alteration product of cement in the Swiss L/ILW repository. This resulted in a database of partition coefficients, which allow to describe empirically the distribution of trace elements between calcite and solution and thus to quantify coprecipitation processes.

Since laboratory data on coprecipitation with calcite are lacking for many safety-relevant radioelements, their partition coefficients were inferred with the help of estimation techniques. Such techniques rely on empirical correlations, which relate the uptake of trace metals in calcite (measured in laboratory tests) with selected chemical properties of the coprecipitated metals (e.g. ionic radius, sorption properties, solubility products of the pure trace metal carbonates). The combination of these correlations with independent geochemical evidence allows the extrapolation of radioelement-­specific partition coefficients, which are then used for the quantitative modelling.

In a first step the potential role of radionuclide coprecipitation during cement degradation in the L/ILW repository planned at Wellenberg is assessed. The results of model calculations indicate for many radionuclides that a large fraction of the total inventory would remain trapped in the secondary calcite formed during cement degradation, considerably reducing their solution concentration. Such calculations confirm the large potential of coprecipitation as a solubility-limiting mechanism for many radionuclides and suggest that including this process in future safety analyses could lead to a significant decrease in doses.

Have your say and visit us.

Follow us

Telephone

+41 56 437 11 11


©2021 Nagra, National Cooperative for the Disposal of Radioactive Waste

Search

Technical Report NTB 97-08

Coprecipitation of radionuclides: basic concepts, literature review and first applications

Bestellung

  • gedruckt, englisch
    30,00 CHF

Download

Details

Die Mitfällung von Radionukliden in sekundären Festkörpern wurde bis heute bei Sicherheitsanalysen für nukleare Endlager nicht quantitativ analysiert, obwohl dieser Prozess als wichtiger Mechanismus zur Begrenzung der Nuklidkonzentration in der Lösung gilt. Dies ist darauf zurückzuführen, dass weder die Festphasen, welche solche Mitfällungsprozesse bestimmen, noch die für deren Beschreibung nötigen Parameterwerte genügend bekannt sind.

Dieser einführende Bericht vermittelt Grundkenntnisse über dieses Thema und gibt eine Übersicht experimenteller Daten aus der Literatur. Der Schwerpunkt wurde auf Mitfällungsexperimente von Spurenmetallen in Calcit gelegt, weil dieses Mineral eine dominierende Sekundärphase der Zementdegradierung im Schweizerischen SMA­Endlager ist. Daraus entstand eine Datenbank von Verteilungskoeffizienten, welche die Verteilung von Spurenelementen zwischen Calcit und Lösung empirisch beschreiben und damit den Mitfällungsprozess quantifizieren.

Da von vielen sicherheitsrelevanten Radioelementen Labordaten über die Mitfällung mit Calcit fehlen, wurden die entsprechenden Verteilungskoeffizienten mit Hilfe verschiedener Abschätzungstechniken abgeleitet. Diese Techniken beruhen auf empirischen Korrelationen, welche die (in Laborexperimenten gemessene) Aufnahme von Spurenmetallen in Calcit mit ausgewählten chemischen Eigenschaften des Spurenmetalls wie dem Ionenradius, den Sorptionseigenschaften oder der Löslichkeit des reinen Karbonates verbinden. Die Kombination solcher Korrelationen mit unabhängigen geochemischen Daten erlaubt die Extrapolation radioelementspezifischer Verteilungskoeffizienten, welche dann in die quantitative Modellierung einfliessen.

In einem ersten Schritt wird die potentielle Rolle der Radionuklidmitfällung während der Zementdegradierung im geplanten SMA Endlager Wellenberg bewertet. Die Ergebnisse von Modellrechnungen zeigen für viele Radionuklide, dass ein wesentlicher Anteil des entsprechenden Gesamtinventars im Laufe der Zementdegradierung durch den sekundär ausgefällten Calcit eingefangen wird. Dadurch werden die Lösungskonzentrationen dieser Radionuklide stark reduziert. Die Rechnungen bestätigen das grosse Potential der Mitfällung als löslichkeitslimitierenden Mechanismus für viele Radionuklide und weisen darauf hin, dass die Berücksichtigung dieses Prozesses in künftigen Sicherheitsanalysen zu signifikant kleineren Dosen führen kann.

Reden Sie mit und besuchen Sie uns.

Diskutieren Sie mit

Telefon

+41 56 437 11 11


©2021 Nagra, Nationale Genossenschaft für die Lagerung radioaktiver Abfälle