Search

Technical Report NTB 96-04

Cementitious Near-Field Sorption Data Bases for Performance Assessment of a UI L W Repository in a Palfris Marl Host Rock

Order

  • hard copy, English
    CHF 30.00

Download

Details

This report is an update on an earlier cementitious sorption data base (SDB) prepared by BRADBURY & SAROTT (1994). The aim is to review any new information or data which have become available in the intervening time and modify the existing SDB appropriately. Discussions will be confined predominantly to areas which have lead to significant changes to or reappraisals of the data/values or procedures for obtaining/modifying them. From this point of view this update and the previous SDB are closely related and belong together.

The complexation of radionuclides with organic ligands resulting from the chemical degradation of cellulose, and the subsequent negative effects on sorption properties, were identified as being processes of great importance. Since 1994 significant progress has been made in this field and a major part of this work is devoted to a reassessment of the impact of "organics" on nearfield sorption. In particular, the very conservative assumptions which had been made previously because of the general lack of good quality data available at that time, could be replaced by realistic parameter estimates based on new knowledge. For example, maximum likely concentrations of cellulose degradation products and cement additives in the cement pore waters could be calculated allowing the potential effects of these organics ligands on sorption to be bounded.

Sorption values for safety relevant radionuclides corresponding to the three broad stages of cement/concrete degradation during the lifetime of the repository are presented in tabulated form. The influence of the wide variety of organic ligands existing in the different waste catagories, SMA-1 to SMA-4, is quantified in terms of sorption reduction factors.

In the compilation of this cement SDB update, radionuclide uptake onto the vast quantities of aggregate materials (in concretes) and corrosion products from iron/steel (from drums and reactor decommissioning) was not taken into account. A first appraisal of the potential contribution from limestone, quartz and goethite to retention in the near field is given. The aim was not so much to provide quantitative sorption data, but rather to begin the process of integrating these materials into safety assessment considerations.

Finally, some brief comments concerning the recrystallisation of calcium silicate hydrate (CSH) gels, carbonation, colloids and radionuclide incorporation into CSH phases are given.

Have your say and visit us.

Follow us

Telephone

+41 56 437 11 11


©2021 Nagra, National Cooperative for the Disposal of Radioactive Waste

Search

Technical Report NTB 96-04

Cementitious Near-Field Sorption Data Bases for Performance Assessment of a UI L W Repository in a Palfris Marl Host Rock

Bestellung

  • gedruckt, englisch
    30,00 CHF

Download

Details

Im vorliegenden Bericht wird eine frühere Sorptions-Datenbasis (SDB) für Zement (BRADBURY & SAROTT 1994) dem neuesten Wissensstand angepasst. Neue Erkenntnisse und Daten wurden überprüft und die bestehende Datenbasis entsprechend modifiziert. Die Diskussionen in diesem Bericht konzentrieren sich vor allem auf jene Gebiete, in denen die Sorptionsdaten signifikant geändert oder neu abgeschätzt werden mussten. Ebenso wird auf Änderungen in den Verfahren, die zur Beschaffung oder Modifizierung der Sorptionsdaten benutzt werden, detailliert eingegangen. So gibt es einen engen Zusammenhang zwischen der vorliegenden, aufdatierten Version und der früheren Datenbasis.

Der Einfluss der organischen Liganden aus dem alkalischen Abbau von Zellulose auf die Sorption von Radionukliden an Zement wurde als besonders wichtig identifiziert. Seit 1994 hat man bedeutende Fortschritte in der Untersuchung dieser Prozesse gemacht; ein grosser Teil des vorliegenden Berichts betrifft daher eine Neuauswertung des Einflusses von organischen Stoffen auf die Radionuklid-Sorption im Nahfeld. Insbesondere wurden die früheren, sehr konservativen Annahmen durch realistische ersetzt. Als Beispiel sei die Berechnung der maximal möglichen Konzentration von Zellulose Abbauprodukten, sowie von Zementzusatzstoffen in den Zement­porenwässern angeführt. Dies ermöglicht eine Eingrenzung der potentiellen Einflüsse dieser organischen Liganden auf die Radionuklid-Sorption.

Sorptionsdaten sicherheitsrelevanter Nuklide, die den drei Degradations­phasen des Zements/Betons zugeordnet werden, sind tabelllarisch dargestellt. Dem Einfluss einer Vielfalt von organischen Liganden, die in den verschiedenen Abfallgruppen von SMA-1 bis SMA-4 vorkommen, wird in Form von Sorptionsreduktionsfaktoren Rechnung getragen.

In der vorliegenden überarbeiteten Form der Sorptions-Datenbasis für Zement wird die Radionuklidsorption auf der Fülle von Zuschlagstoffen (Aggregate im Beton) und den Stahlkorrosionsprodukten (aus den Fässern und der Reaktorstillegung) nicht berücksichtigt, jedoch wird eine erste Bewertung des potentiellen Beitrags von Kalkstein, Quartz und Goethit zur Radionuklidrückhaltung im Nahfeld vorgenommen. Das Ziel lag weniger auf der Ermittlung von quantitativen Sorptionsdaten, sondern vielmehr wurde hiermit ein erster Schritt unternommen, diese Materialien in sicherheitstechnische Überlegungen miteinzubeziehen.

Abschliessend werden die Rekristallisation von Calcium-Silikat-Hydrat (CSH) Gelen, die Karbonatisierung, der Einfluss von Kolloiden und der Radionuklideinbau in CSH-Phasen kurz vorgestellt.

Reden Sie mit und besuchen Sie uns.

Diskutieren Sie mit

Telefon

+41 56 437 11 11


©2021 Nagra, Nationale Genossenschaft für die Lagerung radioaktiver Abfälle