Search

Technical Report NTB 94-03

Modelling of the Near-Field Chemistry of the SMA Repository at the Wellenberg Site: Application of the Extended Cement Degradation Model

Order

  • hard copy, English
    CHF 20.00

Download

Details

Of the materials which make up the L/ILW repository for short-lived low- and intermediate-level wastes, around 95 weight percent consists of concrete, around 4 % of steel and around 1 % of high molecular weight organic waste components. In this report, models are used to evaluate the long-term stability of concrete, steel and high molecular weight organic components under repository conditions. The results of this study will then form the basis for describing release of radionuclides from the disposal caverns, and particularly the sorption of nuclides on concrete.

In the disposal caverns, concrete is exposed to a range of processes which affect its stability. External processes include the leaching of hydrated cement by percolating groundwater, while internal processes include dissolution of repository components in cement porewater which can then react with the concrete. Of greatest significance in this respect are the high molecular weight organic waste components which degrade to organic acids in the disposal environment and then react with the basic components of the concrete.

The leaching of hydrated cement is described, using a mixing tank model, as a sequence of batch experiments in which the same cement block reacts repeatedly with fresh groundwater. The model is based on the work by Berner (1990) but has been extended to include other solid cement phases and can, in a simple way, take account of the degradation of high molecular weight organics and their reaction with hydrated cement. The mixing tank model shows that, given the low water fluxes that are expected for a L/ILW repository, concrete remains stable over geological time spans provided only small volumes of high molecular weight organics are present. If high concentrations of these materials are present, the longevity of the concrete may be reduced.

The redox conditions in the disposal caverns are determined mainly by the corrosion of steel. In the first decades following repository closure (aerobic phase), corrosion processes consume the oxygen present in the repository until only traces are left. Once the oxygen has been consumed, anaerobic corrosion of steel and other metal components takes place over several thousands of years; the redox conditions during this phase are strongly reducing. Once all the metals in the repository have corroded, the redox state will adjust gradually to that of the inflowing groundwater.

Have your say and visit us.

Follow us

Telephone

+41 56 437 11 11


©2021 Nagra, National Cooperative for the Disposal of Radioactive Waste

Search

Technical Report NTB 94-03

Modelling of the Near-Field Chemistry of the SMA Repository at the Wellenberg Site: Application of the Extended Cement Degradation Model

Bestellung

  • gedruckt, englisch
    20,00 CHF

Download

Details

Das Endlager SMA für kurzlebige schwach- und mittelaktive Abfälle besteht zu ca. 95 Gewichtsprozent aus Beton, zu ca. 4 % aus Stahl und zu ca. 1 % aus hochmolekularen organischen Abfallkomponenten. Im vorliegenden Bericht wird die langfristige Beständigkeit von Beton, Stahl und hochmolekularen organischen Abfallkomponenten unter Endlagerbedingungen in Abhängigkeit der Zeit modellhaft beurteilt. Dies ist Grundlage für die Beschreibung der Freisetzung von Radionukliden aus den Endlagerkavernen, insbesondere der Sorption von Radionukliden an Beton.

In den Endlagerkavernen wirken verschiedene Prozesse auf Beton ein, die seine Beständigkeit beeinflussen. Von aussen ist dies die Auslaugung von Zementstein durch das durchströmende Grundwasser. Von innen ist dies die Auflösung von Endlagerkomponenten in das Zementporenwasser, welche mit Beton reagieren können. Hierfür am bedeutendsten sind die hochmolekularen organischen Abfallkomponenten, die unter Endlagerbedingungen zu organischen Säuren abgebaut werden und mit den basischen Komponenten von Beton reagieren.

Die Auslaugung von Zementstein wurde durch ein Mischbehältermodell als eine Abfolge von Batch-Experimenten beschrieben, in denen der gleiche Zementblock immer wieder mit frischem Grundwasser reagiert. Das Mischbehältermodell beruht auf Berner (1990). Es wurde durch weitere Zementfestphasen erweitert und kann vereinfacht die Degradation von hochmolekularen Organika und ihre Reaktion mit Zementstein berücksichtigen. Das Mischbehältermodell zeigt, mit den geringen Wasserflüssen wie sie für ein SMA-Endlager vorgesehen sind, dass Beton über geologische Zeiträume beständig ist, wenn hochmolekulare Organika in kleinen Mengen vorhanden sind. Bei hohen Gehalten an hochmolekularen Organika kann die Beständigkeit von Beton jedoch herabgesetzt sein.

Der Redoxzustand der Endlagerkavernen wird vor allem durch die Korrosion von Stahl bestimmt. In den ersten Jahrzehnten nach Endlagerverschluss (aerobe Phase) wird der Sauerstoff im Endlager durch die Korrosionsvorgänge bis auf Spuren aufgebraucht. Nach Abbau des Sauerstoffs findet während einiger Jahrtausende die anaerobe Korrosion des Stahls und der anderen Metallbestandteile statt. Der Redoxzustand ist während dieser Phase stark reduzierend. Nachdem alle Metalle im Endlager korrodiert sind, passt sich der Redoxzustand langsam dem des einfliessenden Grundwassers an.

Reden Sie mit und besuchen Sie uns.

Diskutieren Sie mit

Telefon

+41 56 437 11 11


©2021 Nagra, Nationale Genossenschaft für die Lagerung radioaktiver Abfälle