Search

Technical Report NTB 93-07

Chemistry of Reference Waters of the Crystalline Basement of Northern Switzerland for Safety Assessment Studies

Download

Details

The chemistry of groundwater in formations being considered as host rocks for nuclear waste repositories must be known to assess the performance of those repositories, and as media for laboratory experiments. Two potential repository siting areas in the crystalline basement of northern Switzerland are being assessed.

This report gives the chemistry of water in both areas for reference use in this assessment. The western area is in the region defined by the Kaisten, Leuggern, Böttstein, and Zurzach boreholes. The western reference water is an Na-SO4-(Cl-HCO3) type with total dissolved solids of 1.0 g/l. Its composition is based on samples from the Leuggern, Böttstein, and Zurzach boreholes. Kaisten water is of higher salinity (1.3 g/l). The concentration ranges of the reference water include Kaisten values, however. High quality samples and analyses, particularly from long term sampling at Zurzach and Leuggern, define the concentration ranges of many trace elements. The definition of this water assumes saturation with respect to calcite, baryte, fluorite, chalcedony, and kaolinite. The reference pe is based on the assumption that dissolved iron concentrations are controlled by the solubility of the mineral goethite, and is consistent with other redox indicators such as the measured Pt-­electrode potential and the ratio of dissolved As(V) to As(III).

The eastern area is characterized by the Siblingen borehole. The eastern reference water is an Na-HCO3-SO4-(Cl) type with a total dissolved solids content of about 0.5 g/l. Only three samples taken during borehole drilling are available to define this water, so it can be specified in less detail and with less precision than the western water. Its definition assumes saturation with respect to calcite, baryte, and fluorite. The samples permit only a broad definition of its oxidation potential and content of redox-sensitive metals such as Fe, As, Mn, and U. Trace element data for the most part are lacking.

Small quantities of much more saline water were found in two locations in the realm of the western reference waters. A sample of an Na-(Ca)-Cl-(SO4) water was taken from 1326 m at Böttstein and of an Na-Ca-SO4 water from 923 m at Leuggern. These waters have total dissolved solids contents of 13 and 5 g/l, respectively, and their chemistries are also given. They probably represent the extreme range of water compositions that might be encountered in parts of a repository in the crystalline basement of northern Switzerland.

Have your say and visit us.

Follow us

Telephone

+41 56 437 11 11


©2022 Nagra, National Cooperative for the Disposal of Radioactive Waste

Search

Technical Report NTB 93-07

Chemistry of Reference Waters of the Crystalline Basement of Northern Switzerland for Safety Assessment Studies

Download

Details

Die Chemie von Grundwässern in Gesteinsformationen, die als potentielle Wirtgesteine für die Endlagerung radioaktiver Abfälle in Betracht kommen, ist ein wichtiger Parameter in der Sicherheitsanalyse. Daten über die Grundwasserchemie finden auch Verwendung in begleitenden Laborexperimenten. Zwei potentielle Standorte im Kristallin der Nordschweiz werden zur Zeit evaluiert. Dieser Bericht präsentiert für beide Standorte die Chemie der Wässer, die als Referenzgrundwässer für die Standortabklärung gebraucht werden.

Der westliche Standort liegt in der Region, die durch die Bohrlöcher Kaisten, Leuggern, Böttstein und Zurzach definiert wird. Das Referenzwasser ist ein Na-S04-(CI-HCO3)­Typ mit einer Summe von gelösten Feststoffen von 1.0 g/l. Die Zusammensetzung dieses Referenzwassers basiert auf Proben, die in den Bohrlöchern Leuggern, Böttstein und Zurzach entnommen wurden. Das Wasser in Kaisten hat eine höhere Salinität (1.3 g/l), die aber in die angegebenen Konzentrationsbereiche des Referenzwassers integriert sind. Proben und Analysen hoher Qualität, insbesondere aus der Langzeit-Probenentnahme in Zurzach und Leuggern, bestimmen die Konzentrationsbereiche vieler Spurenelemente. Das modellierte Referenzwasser beruht auf der Annahme einer Sättigung gegenüber Calcit, Baryt, Fluorit, Chalzedon und Kaolinit. Das Redoxpotential (pe) basiert auf der Annahme, dass der Eisengehalt im Wasser durch das Mineral Goethit kontrolliert wird. Diese Annahme stimmt mit dem gemessenen Platinelektroden-Potential und dem im Wasser bestimmten Verhältnis an gelösten As(V)/As(III) überein.

Der potentielle östliche Standort wird durch das Siblingen-Bohrloch bestimmt. Das Referenzwasser ist ein Na-HCO3-SO4-(Cl)-Typ mit einer Summe von gelösten Feststoffen von ca. 0.5 g/l. Zur Bestimmung dieses Wassers stehen lediglich nur drei Wässer, die während des Abteufens des Bohrlochs entnommen wurden, zur Verfügung. Dies bedeutet, dass das Wasser weniger gut charakterisiert werden kann als das Wasser vom westlichen Standort. Eine Sättigung an Calcit, Baryt und Fluorit wird angenommen. Die Proben erlauben nur eine grobe Definition des Redoxpotentials und der Konzentration redoxaktiver Metalle wie Fe, As, Mn und U. Daten über Spurenelemente fehlen zum grossen Teil.

Kleine Mengen von Wasser mit einer bedeutend höheren Salinität wurden an zwei verschiedene Probestellen im Bereich der westlichen Referenzwässer gefunden. Ein Na-(Ca)-Cl-(SO4)-Wasser wurde in Böttstein in einer Tiefe von 1326 m und in Leuggem ein Na-Ca-SO4-Wasser in einer Tiefe von 923 m entnommen. Diese Wässer zeigen Gehalte an gelösten Feststoffen von 13 resp. 5 g/l; ihre Chemie wird aufgeführt. Diese Wässer werden wohl eher die Extremwerte der Grundwässer darstellen, mit denen zumindest in bestimmten Teilen des Endlagers gerechnet werden muss.

Reden Sie mit und besuchen Sie uns.

Diskutieren Sie mit

Telefon

+41 56 437 11 11


©2021 Nagra, Nationale Genossenschaft für die Lagerung radioaktiver Abfälle