Search

Technical Report NTB 92-13

Characterisation of PWR Cladding Hulls from Commercial Reprocessing

Order

  • hard copy, English
    CHF 30.00

Download

Details

Within the framework of the EC characterisation programme COQUENSTOCK and the cooperation agreement between Nagra and the CEA, PSI received 2 kg of leached hull residues (hull and structure material debris) from the UP2-400 reprocessing plant in La Hague for radiochemical investigation.

The contaminated and activated hull material originated from a fuel element of the PWR Obrigheim (Germany), which had an average burn-up of 30 GWd/tU. The spent fuel from the chopped fuel element was dissolved in a static dissolver and then rinsed.

Because of the significance for repository safety analyses, the emphasis of the investigations was placed on measuring the α-isotope composition, the actinide concentrations and the local distribution of these on and in the fuel element hulls.

The main activity in the cladding waste can be attributed to the presence of typical activation products in the fuel element structural materials, which consist of Inconel and stainless steel. After a cooling period of five years, the gamma dose rate from these components is generally more than a factor of 30 higher than that from the Zircaloy-4 fuel rod fragments (Table a). The Co-60 activities vary very widely and reflect the differing content of Co-59 in the non-irradiated structural material. In the case of the Zircaloy hulls, the activity is dominated by Sb-125 from the Zircaloy alloying element tin, and by fission products (Table b). The fission products significantly contaminate the structure material in the dissolver.

The isotope dilution analysis following chemical dissolution of the Zircaloy hulls gave uranium concentrations of 400 to 2,150 mg U/kg Zry, with a mean value of 1,130 ppm. The Pu/U weight ratio of 1:85 is found to be relatively constant over the whole contamination range. It is also worth noting that the U- and Pu-isotopic composition remains constant in spite of local differences in burn-up (form factor = 1.15). In addition, the Pu-isotopic composition on the Zircaloy hulls is not found to reflect the values which are expected for undissolved, adherent fuel, so that deposition processes during the fuel dissolution can be taken as determining the α-contamination of the hulls.

Based on α-spectrometry measurements, it can be stated that, besides the Pu isotopes, the nuclides Am-241 and Cm-244 contribute more than 30 % to the mean total α-activity of 6.7 mCi/kg Zry (= 250 MBq/kg Zry) (Table b).

The activity distribution on and in the Zircaloy hulls was investigated using α­autoradiography and secondary ion mass spectrometry (SIMS). The Zircaloy surfaces are completely contaminated both inside and outside. Due to the dissolution and flushing processes, the outside surface has a relatively even α­contamination while, on the inside surface (in contact with the fuel) localised areas with very high contamination occur frequently. These areas are formed by residues of dried fuel solution and are particularly significant for trapped residues in pinched or deformed hulls. These localised areas are characterised by the loosely bound nature of the α-deposits.

Qualitative SIMS depth profile analysis showed that uranium is deposited or emplaced almost exclusively on the surface and, to a small extent, in the thin oxide layer. Compared to this, the fission products penetrate further into the inner surface due to their recoil energy. This implanted beta, gamma activity is significant and very difficult to remove by rinsing. On the other hand, the primary α-contamination on the inner surface was largely removed by the very efficient fuel dissolution process. The secondary contamination on the hulls, especially on the inner surface, arising in the dissolver could be washed out to a greater extent by using a more suitable rinsing procedure which takes into account hull deformation and the somewhat rough surface structure. On the outside of the hulls, the concentrations tend to be regular and fit the concept of a purely secondary surface contamination.

Since the contamination mechanism for the fission products is different to a certain extent from that for the actinides, it is understandable that the correlation between the actinides and the fission products is limited. When characterising the cladding waste, Cs-137 is therefore not really suitable as a reference nuclide for the adhesive, fissile material.

Have your say and visit us.

Follow us

Telephone

+41 56 437 11 11


©2021 Nagra, National Cooperative for the Disposal of Radioactive Waste

Search

Technical Report NTB 92-13

Characterisation of PWR Cladding Hulls from Commercial Reprocessing

Bestellung

  • gedruckt, englisch
    30,00 CHF

Download

Details

Aus dem EG-Charakterisierungsprogramm COQUENSTOCK über Brennstabhülsen, erhielt das PSI, im Rahmen der Zusammenarbeit zwischen dem CEA und der Nagra, 2 kg ausgelaugte Hülsenreststücke aus der Wiederaufarbeitungsanlage UP2-400 in La Hague zur eigenen radiochemischen Untersuchung.

Das kontaminierte und aktivierte Hülsenmaterial stammte von einem zerlegten Brennelement des PWR Obrigheim (BRD) mit einem mittleren Abbrand von 30 GWd/tU. Die Hülsen wurden in einem statisch arbeitenden Auflösebad behandelt und dann gespült.

Wegen der Bedeutung für die Endlager-Sicherheitsanalysen lag das Schwergewicht der Arbeiten auf der Bestimmung der α-Isotopenzusammensetzung, der Aktinidenkonzentrationen und der örtlichen Verteilung derselben auf und in den Brennstabhülsen.

Die Hauptaktivität des Cladding-Abfalls ist auf die Anwesenheit typischer Aktivierungsprodukte in den aus Inconel und rostfreiem Stahl bestehenden BE­Strukturmaterialien zurückzuführen. Die γ-Dosisleistung dieser Strukturteile liegt nach 5-jähriger Abkühlzeit im Mittel um mehr als einen Faktor 30 höher als diejenige der Zircaloy-4-Brennstabstücke (Tabelle a, Seite IV). Die Co-60 Aktivitäten variieren dabei allerdings sehr stark und widerspiegeln den unterschiedlichen Gehalt an Co-59 im unbestrahlten Strukturmaterial. Demgegenüber dominieren bei den Zircaloy-Hülsen Sb-125 vom Zircaloy-Legierungselement Zinn sowie die Spaltprodukte (Tabelle b, Seite V). Mit letzteren werden im Auflösebad auch die Strukturteile in erheblichem Masse kontaminiert.

Die Isotopenverdünnungsanalyse nach chemischer Auflösung von Zircaloy-Hülsen ergab Urankonzentrationen von 400 bis 2'150 mg U/kg Zry bei einem Mittelwert von 1'130 ppm. Über den gesamten Kontaminationsbereich besteht ein mässig konstantes Pu/U-Gewichtsverhältnis von 1:85. Bemerkenswert ist im Weiteren die konstante U- und Pu-Isotopenzusammensetzung trotz axial leicht unterschiedlicher Abbrände (Formfaktor = 1.15). Zusätzlich weist die Pu-Isotopenzusammensetzung am Zircaloy in eine Richtung, wie man sie für anhaftenden, ungelösten Brennstoff kaum erwarten würde, so dass Ablagerungsvorgänge während der Brennstoffauflösung als entscheidend für die α-Kontamination der Brennstabhülsen gewertet werden.

Aufgrund α-spektrometrischer Messungen tragen neben den Pu-Isotopen die Nuklide Am-241 und Cm-244 mehr als 30 % zur mittleren α-Gesamtaktivität von 6,7 mCi/kg Zry (= 250 MBq/kg Zry) bei (Tabelle b, Seite V).

Die Aktivitätsverteilung auf und in den Zircaloy-Hülsen wurde mittels α-Autoradiographie und Sekundärionen-Massenspektroskopie (SIMS) untersucht. Die Zircaloyoberflächen sind lückenlos sowohl innen wie aussen kontaminiert. Die Aussenseite weist durch den Auflöse- und Spülprozess eine relativ gleichmässige α-Kontamination auf, während auf der Brennstoffseite häufig lokale Bereiche sehr hoher Kontamination auszumachen sind. Typisch für diese hochkonzentrierten Stellen, welche durch eingetrocknete Lösungsreste entstanden sind und bei stark deformierten Hülsen besonders ausgeprägt auftreten, ist die relativ lose Beschaffenheit dieser α-Rückstände.

Qualitative SIMS-Tiefenprofilanalysen zeigten, dass Uran fast ausschliesslich auf der Oberfläche und in geringem Ausmass in der dünnen Oxidschicht ab­ bzw. eingelagert wird. Demgegenüber dringen die Spaltprodukte durch die Rückstossenergie ziemlich weit in die Innenoberfläche ein. Diese bedeutende, implantierte β-, γ-Aktivität kann beim Spülen kaum entfernt werden. Hingegen liess sich die primäre α-Kontamination auf der Innenseite durch den effizienten Auflösungsprozess weitgehend entfernen. Die sekundäre Kontamination der Hülsen im Auflöser könnte ebenfalls in einem geeigneten Spülverfahren, welche der Hülsenverformung und der teilweise rauen Oberflächenstruktur Rechnung trägt, zu einem grösseren Teil ausgewaschen werden. Auf der Aussenseite sind die Konzentrationsverläufe gleich und entsprechen der Vorstellung einer lediglich oberflächlich entstandenen sekundären Kontamination.

Da für die Spaltprodukte teilweise ein anderer Kontaminationsmechanismus als für die Aktiniden verantwortlich zeichnet, ist es verständlich, dass zwischen ihnen eine nur sehr bescheidene Korrelation besteht. Bei der Charakterisierung des Cladding-Abfalls eignet sich deshalb Cs-137 eher schlecht als Leitnuklid für das anhaftende, spaltbare Material.

Reden Sie mit und besuchen Sie uns.

Diskutieren Sie mit

Telefon

+41 56 437 11 11


©2021 Nagra, Nationale Genossenschaft für die Lagerung radioaktiver Abfälle