Search

Technical Report NTB 91-12

Grimsel Test Site Structural geology and water flow paths in the migration shear zone

Order

  • hard copy, English
    CHF 50.00

Download

Details

Introduction: The shear-zone in the ventilation tunnel at VT 420 at the Grimsel Test Site (GTS) is a direct continuation of the migration shear-zone AU 96 that is being used for hydraulic and tracer migration experiments. A thick drill-core (diameter 20 cm) was taken from the VT 420 location such that the fragile structures in the central fault breccia remained largely intact. After several hardening steps, thin-sections were produced for all three main deformation planes of the deformation ellipsoid (i.e. parallel/perpendicular to the cleavage and stretching lineation). Vacuum impregnation with fluorescent resin allowed the pore space to be observed microscopically.

Ductile shear-zone: The ductile shear-zone at VT 420 is 0.15 – 0.90 m thick, strikes WSW­ENE and dips steeply to the SSE and trends parallel to the cleavage (S-zone). The shear direction is sub-vertical, parallel to the mineral stretching lineation. Looking to the E, the shear sense is anti-clockwise, meaning the shear-zones have accommodated thrust displacements. A minimum value for the shear displacement across the shear-zone is 3 m. The structure of the ductile shear-zone can be linked with the Alpine greenschist metamorphism and the development of the regional cleavage. This deformation is purely ductile and includes the formation of a set of mylonitic zones within the shear-zone. Mylonitic zones are mica-rich and more fine-grained than the surrounding rock. The shear-zone is markedly asymmetric, with an abrupt northern boundary (very high deformation gradient) and an indistinct southern boundary.

Brittle deformation: During the course of post-metamorphic regional uplift, the ductile shear-zone was reactivated and underwent brittle deformation. This lead to formation of non­cohesive fault breccias several mm thick, particularly in strongly mylonitic zones which acted as pre-existing zones of weakness (reduced mechanical competence, high deformation gradients). The fault breccias can be interpreted genetically as fault gouges and consist of angular rock fragments embedded in a mica-rich matrix. This matrix is non-cohesive because virtually no hydrothermal alteration and cementation of the pore space has occurred after the brittle deformation event. Hypotheses for the origin of the fault gouges besides differential uplift of individual blocks include the effects of periodic movements such as tides and changes in water levels in the nearby reservoirs.

Quantitative porosimetry: A number of methods (Hg injection, water gravimetry, impregnation with polymethylmethacrylate PMMA) have been applied to quantitatively determine the interconnected pore space in the different rock types in the shear-zone. Due to the cohesionless structure, the fault gouge porosity cannot be measured but is estimated at 10 – 30 vol.% from thin-sections. Ultramylonitic rock portions (in which the fault gouges are often embedded) have a rather low porosity (as low as 0.5 vol.%) due to their dense, recrystallized structure. Porosity increases with decreasing degree of ductile deformation, and the granodioritic matrix rocks have open porosities > 1 vol.% in many cases. Porosity of weakly deformed granodiorite decreases with increasing distance from the tunnel wall (10 % decrease over the first 20 cm), which is interpreted as a consequence of microcrack formation during tunnel construction.

Extrapolation of observed structures to larger scales: Because of the limited outcrop size in the tunnel, an attempt to extrapolate the observed structures to larger scales was made using information from geological mapping on the surface. Similar shear-zones at the Räterichsboden reservoir can be mapped on the meter – decametre scale. We assume that the shear-zone geometry described can be extrapolated to the 100 m-range.

Implications for water flow and transport: It is brittle deformation which plays the dominant role as far as water flow is concerned today: the central fault gouge is highly porous due to the lack of hydrothermal cementation. The ultramylonitic rock zones bordering the fault gouge are very tight but do contain planar pore spaces along mica streaks (sheet-silicate porosity). These provide a hydraulic connection between the fault gouge and the less deformed granodioritic gneiss outside the shear-zone. The granodioritic matrix rocks have a well developed, interconnected network of grain boundary and transgranular pores. Feldspars also have numerous solution pores, interpreted as etching phenomena of Alpine metamorphic fluids.

Suggestions for revised conceptual models: Revised conceptual models are suggested for the geometry of the pore spaces and for the hydrodynamic and transport modelling. The geometrical model is based mainly on microscopic parameters derived from thin-sections (for example pore width, persistence and orientation). The model consists of 3 domains: 1) the fault gouges are represented by a system of plates with variable orientation and thickness, consisting of an equivalent porous medium, 2) the mylonitic rocks are described of a highly anisotropic fracture network (sheet silicate pores), 3) the granodioritic gneisses surrounding the shear-zone are represented by a mildly anisotropic fracture network (grain boundary pores). Within these 3 domains, the pore spaces are interconnected. This small-scale conceptual geometrical model can be extrapolated to larger scales by the use of standard averaging techniques. The relevance of advective, dispersive and diffusive transport in all domains was considered. It is suggested that advection and mechanical dispersion is most effective in the fault gouges whereas molecular diffusion is expected to be relevant in the domains 2 and 3. The migration shear-zone can therefore be described in terms of a dual-porosity transport model.

Have your say and visit us.

Follow us

Telephone

+41 56 437 11 11


©2021 Nagra, National Cooperative for the Disposal of Radioactive Waste

Search

Technical Report NTB 91-12

Grimsel Test Site Structural geology and water flow paths in the migration shear zone

Bestellung

  • gedruckt, englisch
    50,00 CHF

Download

Details

Einleitung: Die Scherzone im Ventilationsstollen des Felslabors Grimsel (FLG) bei VT 420 ist die direkte Fortsetzung der Migrationsscherzone AU 96, an welcher hydraulische und Tracer-Migrationstests durchgeführt werden. Ein 20 cm dicker Bohrkern wurde bei VT 420 derart entnommen, dass die äusserst fragilen und teilweise kohäsionslosen Strukturen der Scherzone weitgehend erhalten geblieben sind. Der Bohrkern wurde anschliessend mehrfach mit Epoxid-Harz gehärtet, und Dünnschliffe wurden in allen drei Hauptebenen der Gesteinsdeformation (d. h. parallel/senkrecht zur Schieferung und Streckungslineation) hergestellt. Durch Vakuum-Imprägnation mit fluoreszierendem Harz wurde die mikroskopische Beobachtung des Gesteinsporenraums bis in den unteren μm-Bereich ermöglicht.

Duktile Scherzone: Die duktile Scherzone streicht bei VT 420 WSW-ENE mit einem steilen Einfallen nach SSE und ist 0.15 – 0.90 m mächtig. Sie steht parallel zur regionalen Schieferung des Grimsel-Granodiorits und ist somit eine S-Scherzone. Die Scherrichtung ist subvertikal und steht parallel zur Streckungslineation. Bei Blickrichtung nach E ist der Schersinn sinistral, es handelt sich also um eine steile Überschiebung, für welche ein minimaler Scherbetrag von 3 m abgeschätzt werden kann. Die Bildung der duktilen Scherzone hängt mit der alpinen grünschieferfaziellen Metamorphose und der Ausbildung der regionalen Schieferung zusammen. Der Deformationsstil ist rein duktil und beinhaltet die Bildung mylonitischer Zonen, welche sich durch Glimmerreichtum und eine gegenüber dem Nebengestein deutlich erniedrigte Korngrösse auszeichnen. Die Scherzone ist deutlich asymmetrisch, mit einer scharfen Nordgrenze (sehr hoher Deformationsgradient) und einer undeutlichen, fliessenden südlichen Berandung.

Spröddeformation: Während der postorogenen regionalen Hebung der Alpen wurde die bis dahin kompakte und dichte Scherzone reaktiviert und durch differentielle Blockbewegungen spröd deformiert. Dabei sind mehrere mm mächtige Horizonte kohäsionsloser Bruchbrekzien («Fault breccias», «Kluftletten») entstanden, hauptsächlich in den stark mylonitischen Bereichen der duktilen Scherzone, welche eine präexistente Schwächezone mit reduzierter Festigkeit (Glimmerreichtum, hohe Deformationsgradienten) darstellen. Die Bruchbrekzien können genetisch als «Fault gouges» interpretiert werden und bestehen aus kaum gerundeten Gesteinsfragmenten, welche in einer sehr feinkörnigen, glimmerreichen Matrix eingebettet sind. Diese ist weitgehend kohäsionslos, weil auf die Spröddeformation keine hydrothermale Umwandlung mit Zementation folgt. Als Entstehungshypothesen der «Fault gouges» werden neben differentiellen Hebungsbewegungen auch periodische Bewegungen wie Gezeiteneffekte oder Wasserstandsänderungen in den nahegelegenen Staubecken in Betracht gezogen.

Quantitative Porosimetrie: Zur Charakterisierung und Quantifizierung des verbundenen Porenraums der verschiedenen Gesteinstypen in der Scherzone wurden mehrere Methoden angewandt (Hg-Druckporosimetrie, Wasser-Gravimetrie, Imprägnation mit Polymethylmethacrylat PMMA). Wegen ihrer Kohäsionslosigkeit kann die Porosität der «Fault gouges» nicht gemessen werden, wird aber aufgrund der Dünnschliffbeobachtungen auf 10 – 30 Vol.% geschätzt. Ultramylonitische Partien haben wegen ihres dichten, rekristallisierten Gefüges nur geringe Porositäten (0.5 Vol.%). Die Porosität nimmt mit abnehmender duktiler Deformation zu und erreicht im granodioritischen Nebengestein Werte > 1 Vol.%. Die Porosität von wenig deformiertem Granodiorit nimmt mit zunehmender Distanz von der Stollenwand ab (10 % auf den ersten 20 cm), was als künstlicher Auflockerungseffekt beim Fräsen des Stollens betrachtet wird (Mikrorissbildung).

Extrapolation der beobachteten Strukturen auf grössere Massstäbe: Die Untertag­Beobachtungen, welche sich auf die Grösse des Stollenquerschnitts beschränken müssen, wurden durch eine geologische Kartierung an der Oberfläche ergänzt. Ähnliche Strukturen wie im Stollen wurden im Meter – Dekameter-Bereich am Räterichsboden-Stausee angetroffen. Es wird angenommen, dass die beobachteten Strukturmuster bis in den 100 m-Bereich extrapoliert werden können.

Bedeutung für den Wasserfluss und Stofftransport: Der heutige Wasserfluss durch die Migrationsscherzone wird durch Strukturen dominiert, welche im Zuge der spröden Deformation entstanden sind: Die «Fault gouges» sind hydrothermal nicht zementiert und daher hochporös. Sie werden umgeben von dichtem mylonitischem Material, welches aber Kanäle parallel den Glimmerplättchen aufweist und eine Verbindung zum höherporösen granodioritischen Nebengestein gewährleistet. Dieses enthält ein gut verbundenes Netz von Korngrenzporen und transgranularen Poren mit Öffnungsweiten um 1 μm. Feldspäte im Granodiorit weisen zudem extrem feine Korrosionsstrukturen auf, welche auf alpine Wässer zurückgehen.

Vorschlag für ein revidiertes konzeptuelles Modell: Revidierte konzeptuelle Modelle werden bezüglich der Porenraumgeometrie, der hydrodynamischen Modellierung und der Transportmodellierung vorgeschlagen. Mittels Dünnschliffbeobachtungen können mikroskopisch-geometrische Parameter wie zum Beispiel Öffnungsweiten, Ausdehnung und Orientierung von Poren abgeleitet werden. Das geometrische Modell besteht aus 3 Bereichen: 1) Bruchbrekzien, charakterisiert durch ein Kluftsystem variabler Öffnung und Orientierung, gefüllt mit einem porösen Medium, 2) Mylonite, welche durch ein anisotropes Netzwerk von Schichtsilikatporen beschrieben werden und 3) Granodioritische Gneise mit einem schwach anisotropen Gefüge von Korngrenzporen. Diese 3 Bereiche sind miteinander verbunden. Durch Mittelungsprozesse kann der mikroskopische Porenraum auch auf den Meso- und Makrobereich übertragen werden. Ferner wird der Einfluss der Advektion, der Dispersion und der Diffusion in den 3 Bereichen qualitativ abgeschätzt. Advektion und mechanische Dispersion scheinen die wesentlichen Prozesse in der Kluftbrekzie zu sein, währenddem molekulare Diffusion im Netzwerk der Domänen 2 und 3 dominiert. Dadurch scheint der Ansatz eines dualen Porenraumtransportes in der Migrationsscherzone gerechtfertigt zu sein.

Reden Sie mit und besuchen Sie uns.

Diskutieren Sie mit

Telefon

+41 56 437 11 11


©2021 Nagra, Nationale Genossenschaft für die Lagerung radioaktiver Abfälle