Search

Technical Report NTB 90-36

On the problem of silicia solubility at high pH

Download

Details

The aqueous system Na2O-H2O-SiO2 is considered to play an important role when strong alkaline pore waters of a cement based intermediate level radioactive waste repository intrude into the rock formations surrounding the near field. Under such con­ditions unknown quantities of silica may dissolve. Therefore the pH-dependence of the solubility of amorphous silica and quartz is investigated by a parameter variation study using the geochemical speciation code MINEQL/EIR. Published silica solubility data obtained in sodium hydroxide solutions at 25 and 90°C are compared with the results of four models which use different proposed values of the rather uncertain equilibrium constants. Of main interest is the question of whether, in a high pH region, the silica solubility can be explained with different monomeric species only, or to what extent additional polymeric silica species have to be considered as well. Furthermore, the influence of silica-sodium ion pairing under such extreme conditions is also studied.

The solubility of amorphous silica at 25°C is well understood up to a pH of about 10.5, where it is determined by the solubility product and the first dissociation constant of monomeric silicic acid. In more alkaline media the total solubility increases dramatically. This behaviour is less well understood due to uncertainties of the second deprotonation and polymerisation constants. Despite these uncertainties, it is shown that the most probable cause of the increased solubility of amorphous silica in the region between pH 10.5 and 11.3 is the formation of dimers, trimers and tetramers. Below a total silica concentration of 0.01 M and pH ≤ 10.0, however, polymerisation proves to be insignificant.

Besides low temperature studies using amorphous silica, the solubility of quartz has also been measured in NaOH solutions at 90°C. As is the case at lower temperatures, the reported values for the second dissociation constant at 90°C scatter widely. Although it is not possible to extract this value from the few analytical data, it can be shown that in a NaOH medium up to 0.1 M only mononuclear silica species are stable. Therefore it is concluded that the trend of monomers to form polymers decreases strongly with temperature. In addition, there are indications that, in strong NaOH solutions at elevated temperatures, silica-sodium ion pairing gains importance.

Have your say and visit us.

Follow us

Telephone

+41 56 437 11 11


©2021 Nagra, National Cooperative for the Disposal of Radioactive Waste

Search

Technical Report NTB 90-36

On the problem of silicia solubility at high pH

Download

Details

Dem wässerigen System Na2O-SiO2-H2O wird eine grosse Bedeutung beigemessen, wenn stark alkalische Zementporenwässer aus einem mit Zement verfüllten Endlager für schwach radioaktive Abfälle in das umgebende Gestein des Nahfeldes eindringen. Unter solchen extremen Bedingungen lösen sich möglicherweise enorme Mengen an Kieselsäure. Daher werden in einer Modellstudie die Löslichkeiten von amorphen Silikagel und Quarz in Natriumhydroxidlösungen in Abhängigkeit des pH untersucht. Publizierte Löslichkeitsdaten gemessen bei 25 und 90°C werden mit den Resultaten von vier Modellen verglichen, die sich durch Variation verschiedener Gleichgewichtskonstanten zwischen Kieselsäurespezien ergeben. Als Berechnungsgrundlage dient der geochemische Speziationscode MINEQL/EIR. Die zentrale Frage ist, ob sich die SiO2­-Löslichkeit bei einem hohen pH allein mit monomeren Spezien erklären lässt, oder ob zusätzliche polymere Spezien berücksichtigt werden müssen. Zusätzlich wird auch der Einfluss einer Komplexbildung von Kieselsäure mit Natrium untersucht.

Die Löslichkeit von amorphen Silikagel bei 25°C wird allgemein gut verstanden bis etwa pH 10.5, wobei sie durch das Löslichkeitsprodukt der Festphase und durch die erste Dissoziationskonstante von monomerer Kieselsäure bestimmt wird. Mit zunehmender Natriumhydroxidkonzentration steigt die totale SiO2-Löslichkeit jedoch sprunghaft an. Dies Verhalten wird weniger gut verstanden, da es über die zweite Deprotonierungsreaktion und verschiedene Polymerisationsgleichgewichte widersprüchliche Aussagen gibt. Aufgrund der gewonnenen Resultate ist es wahrscheinlich, dass zwischen pH 10.5 und 11.3 vermehrt Polymere in Form von Dimeren, Trimeren und Tetrameren auftreten. Polymerisation ist allerdings bedeutungslos in Lösungen mit totaler SiO2-Konzentration unter 0.01 M und im Falle gesättigter Lösungen unterhalb eines pH-Wertes von 10.0.

In der Literatur lassen sich auch einige Werke ausmachen, in denen Löslichkeitsuntersuchungen von Quarz in NaOH-Lösungen bei 90°C beschrieben sind. Auch in diesen Berichten werden wiederum bezüglich der zweiten Deprotonierungskonstanten widersprüchliche Angaben gemacht. Obwohl es mit dem vorhandenen Datenmaterial nicht möglich ist, diese Konstante zu extrahieren, kann gezeigt werden, dass in NaOH-­Lösungen bis 0.1 M vornehmlich monomere Silikatspezien auftreten. Dies deutet darauf hin, dass die Polymerisierbarkeit von Kieselsäure mit steigender Temperatur stark abnimmt. Es gibt jedoch Anzeichen dafür, dass in konzentrierten NaOH-Lösungen bei erhöhten Temperaturen zusätzlich mit Bildung von Natriumsilikat-Komplexen gerechnet werden muss.

Reden Sie mit und besuchen Sie uns.

Diskutieren Sie mit

Telefon

+41 56 437 11 11


©2021 Nagra, Nationale Genossenschaft für die Lagerung radioaktiver Abfälle