Search

Technical Report NTB 90-33

Poços de Caldas Report No. 15 Summary and implications for radioactive waste management

Order

  • hard copy, English
    CHF 30.00

Download

Details

This report provides an overview of the Poços de Caldas natural analogue study, aspects of which have been described in detail in the previous 14 reports of this series.

The first part of this report provides the historical background to the project, describes the research programme developed at the Osamu Utsumi and Morro do Ferro sites and summarises the main findings of the geological, hydrologic and geochemical characterisation work.

This is followed by reviews of the four analogue sub-projects – testing geochemical models of trace element solubility and speciation, evaluation of models of redox front development and movement, examining the role of natural colloids as a vector for transport of trace elements and appraisal of a modelling approach to quantifying hydrothermal alteration and solute transport processes.

Finally, the direct implications of the project to radioactive waste management are discussed along with some valuable spin-off which was identified. Such a large multidisciplinary study proved a very valuable focus for forging contacts between specialists – from different disciplines in a manner closely analogous to that required for an integrated site assessment. The iterative development of the modellers' wish lists and the field/lab analytical programme was a key to the success of this Project and provides guidelines for site-specific performance assessment.

Have your say and visit us.

Follow us

Telephone

+41 56 437 11 11


©2021 Nagra, National Cooperative for the Disposal of Radioactive Waste

Search

Technical Report NTB 90-33

Poços de Caldas Report No. 15 Summary and implications for radioactive waste management

Bestellung

  • gedruckt, englisch
    30,00 CHF

Download

Details

Dieser Bericht gibt einen Überblick über die Poços de Caldas Analogstudie, deren verschiedene Forschungsaspekte in den 14 vorangegangenen Berichten dieser Serie im Detail beschrieben wurden.

Der erste Teil dieses Berichtes informiert über den historischen Hintergrund des Projektes, beschreibt die Untersuchungsprogramme für die Orte Morro do Ferro und Osamu Utsumi U-Mine und fasst die wichtigsten Erkenntnisse zur Geologie, Hydrologie und Geochemie dieser zwei Untersuchungsstellen zusammen.

Es folgt ein Überblick über die vier Analog-Unterprojekte: Prüfung geochemischer Modelle zur Löslichkeit und Speziation von Spurenelementen, Bewertung von Modellen zur Entstehung und Fortbewegung von Redoxfronten, Beurteilung der Rolle von Kolloiden für den Transport von Spurenelementen und Bewertung eines Näherungsmodells zur Quantifizierung von Gesteinsveränderungen und Lösungstransportprozessen unter hydrothermalen Bedingungen.

Zum Abschluss werden die direkten Folgerungen aus dem Projekt für die Lagerung radioaktiver Abfälle diskutiert und einige zusätzliche Erkenntnisse mitgeteilt. Dieses grosse, multidisziplinäre Projekt erwies sich als sehr nützlich, um Kontakte zwischen Fachspezialisten verschiedener Disziplinen zu knüpfen, ähnlich wie das für eine integrierte Standortbeurteilung erforderlich wäre. Die iterative Entwicklung der Wunschliste der Modellierer und des analytischen Feld-/Laborprogramms war für den Erfolg des Projektes mitentscheidend und kann Richtlinien für die standortspezifische Sicherheitsanalyse geben.

Reden Sie mit und besuchen Sie uns.

Diskutieren Sie mit

Telefon

+41 56 437 11 11


©2021 Nagra, Nationale Genossenschaft für die Lagerung radioaktiver Abfälle