Search

Technical Report NTB 90-30

Poços de Caldas Report No. 12 Testing models of redox front migration and geochemistry at the Osamu Utsumi mine and Morro do Ferro analogue study sites, Poços de Caldas, Brazil

Order

  • hard copy, English
    CHF 30.00

Download

Details

Redox fronts occur at a number of locations in repository systems and models have been established to describe their chemical evolution and spatial development. Such models can be tested against detailed observations of the well-developed redox fronts at the Osamu Utsumi mine.

Simple scoping calculations can explain the formation of redox fronts in very general terms but greatly simplify the processes known to be occurring at such fronts. Coupled transport / chemistry models can provide a better simulation of the fronts, but these are primarily interpretative models which have not yet displayed any convincing predictive abilities. They tend to be rather poor, in particular, in simulating trace element chemistry in either solution or solid phases.

Interpretative modelling of microbial activity, natural series profiles and trace element distributions gives strong indications of the reasons for the limitations of the chemical modelling. The role of microbial catalysis seems to be very significant in such systems, particularly affecting the redox chemistry of sulphur. Natural series measurements indicate very slow redox front movement at particular sites which could be due to precipitation processes limiting accessible porosity, a point not considered in any of the models. Finally, the trace element distributions strongly suggest immobilisation of many elements as co-precipitates or solid solutions in secondary iron minerals, again a process not considered by current models.

Have your say and visit us.

Follow us

Telephone

+41 56 437 11 11


©2021 Nagra, National Cooperative for the Disposal of Radioactive Waste

Search

Technical Report NTB 90-30

Poços de Caldas Report No. 12 Testing models of redox front migration and geochemistry at the Osamu Utsumi mine and Morro do Ferro analogue study sites, Poços de Caldas, Brazil

Bestellung

  • gedruckt, englisch
    30,00 CHF

Download

Details

Redoxfronten entstehen an einer Anzahl von Stellen im Endlagersystem. Zur Beschreibung ihrer chemischen und örtlichen Entwicklung wurden Modelle erstellt. Solche Modelle können anhand von detaillierten Beobachtungen an gut entwickelten Redoxfronten der Osamu Utsumi Mine überprüft werden.

Einfache Überschlagsberechungen können die Bildung von Redoxfronten grundsätzlich erklären, aber sie vereinfachen die Prozesse, die offenkundig an solchen Fronten von statten gehen, allzu sehr. Kombinierte Transport/Chemie-Modelle können eine bessere Simulation der Fronten bieten. Es handelt sich dabei jedoch in erster Linie um interpretative Modelle, deren Vorhersagefähigkeit noch nicht bewiesen ist. Sie sind meist ungenügend, vor allem für die Simulation der Chemie von Spurenelementen in Lösung und in festen Phasen.

Interpretationsmodelle von mikrobiologischen Vorgängen, von Profilen der natürlichen Zerfalls-Serien und von Spurenelementverteilungen deuten auf die Gründe für die Begrenzung chemischer Modelle. Die Rolle der mikrobiologischen Katalyse scheint von sehr grosser Bedeutung für solche Systeme zu sein, vor allem die Redoxchemie des Schwefels betreffend. Messungen natürlicher Zerfalls-Serien deuten an bestimmten Orten auf sehr langsame Redoxfront-Bewegungen. Dies könnte aufgrund von Fällungsvorgängen, welche die Porosität einschränken, zustande kommen; ein Punkt, der in keinem der Modelle berücksichtigt wurde. Schlussendlich deutet die Verteilung der Spurenelemente stark auf die Immobilisation vieler Elemente durch Mitfällung oder Bildung fester Lösungen in sekundären Eisenmineralien hin; auch ein Vorgang der von gängigen Modellen nicht berücksichtigt wird.

Reden Sie mit und besuchen Sie uns.

Diskutieren Sie mit

Telefon

+41 56 437 11 11


©2021 Nagra, Nationale Genossenschaft für die Lagerung radioaktiver Abfälle