Search

Technical Report NTB 90-21

Pogos de Caldas Report No.3 Mineralogy, petrology and geochemistry of the Poços de Caldas analogue study sites, Minas Gerais, Brazil.

Order

  • hard copy, English
    CHF 30.00

Download

Details

The thorium-rare-earth element (Th-REE) deposit at Morro do Ferro is of supergene origin and was formed under lateritic weathering conditions. The ore body forms shallow NW-SE elongated argillaceous lenses that extend from the top of the hill downwards along its south-eastern slope. The deposit is capped by a stock work of magnetite veins which have protected the underlying, highly weathered argillaceous host rock from excessive erosion. The surrounding country rocks comprise a sequence of subvolcanic phonolite intrusions that have been strongly altered by hydrothermal and supergene processes.

From petrological, mineralogical and geochemical studies and mass balance calculations, it is inferred that the highly weathered host rock was originally carbonatitic in composition and was initially enhanced in thorium and rare-earth elements compared to the surrounding silicate rocks. Intrusion of the carbonatite produced a fenitic alteration of the surrounding phonolites, consisting of an early potassic alteration followed by a vein-type Th-REE mineralization with associated fluorite, carbonate, pyrite and zircon. Subsequent lateritic weathering has completely destroyed the carbonatite, forming a residual supergene enrichment of Th and REEs.

Initial weathering of the carbonatite leading to solutions enriched in carbonate and phosphate may have appreciably restricted the dissolution of the primary Th-REE phases. Strongly oxidic weathering has resulted in a fractionation between cerium and the other light rare-earth elements (LREEs). Ce3+ is oxidized to Ce4+ and retained together with thorium by secondary mineral formation and adsorption on poorly crystalline iron­ and aluminium-hydroxides. In contrast, the trivalent LREEs are retained to a lesser degree and are thus more available for secondary mineral formation and adsorption at greater depths down the weathering column. Seasonally controlled fluctuations of recharge waters into the weathering column may help to explain the observed repetition of Th-Ce enriched zones underlain by trivalent LREE enriched zones.

Have your say and visit us.

Follow us

Telephone

+41 56 437 11 11


©2021 Nagra, National Cooperative for the Disposal of Radioactive Waste

Search

Technical Report NTB 90-21

Pogos de Caldas Report No.3 Mineralogy, petrology and geochemistry of the Poços de Caldas analogue study sites, Minas Gerais, Brazil.

Bestellung

  • gedruckt, englisch
    30,00 CHF

Download

Details

Die Thorium-Seltene-Erden-Elemente (Th-SEE)-Lagerstätte von Morro do Ferro wurde durch eindringendes Oberflächenwasser unter lateritischen Verwitterungsbedingungen gebildet. Der Erzkörper bildet oberflächennahe, nach NW-SE gedehnte tonige Linsen, die sich von der Hügelkuppe dem SE-Hang entlang nach unten erstrecken. Die Lagerstätte ist von Magnetitgängen bedeckt, welche das darunterliegende, stark verwitterte, tonige Muttergestein vor starker Erosion schützte. Die umgebenden Gesteine sind eine Sequenz von subvulkanischen Phonolit-Intrusionen, die durch hydrothermale Prozesse und Einwirkung von Oberflächenwasser stark verändert wurden.

Aus petrologischen, mineralogischen und geologischen Untersuchungen sowie aus Massenbilanz-Rechnungen kann geschlossen werden, dass das stark verwitterte Muttergestein ursprünglich karbonatitische Zusammensetzung hatte und in Bezug auf die umgebenden Silikatgesteine an Thorium und Seltene-Erden-Elemente (SEE) angereichert war. Die Intrusion von Karbonatit führte zu einer fenitischen Veränderung der umgebenden Phonolite und zwar zunächst durch die Einwirkung von Kalium, gefolgt von einer gangartigen Th-SEE-Vererzung in Begleitung von Fluorit, Karbonat, Pyrit und Zirkon. Die nachfolgende lateritische Verwitterung zerstörte den Karbonatit vollständig und führte zu der noch verbleibenden Anreicherung von Th und SEE.

Die anfängliche Verwitterung von Karbonatit könnte durch Bildung von karbonat­ und phosphatreichen Lösungen wesentlich zur Verlangsamung der Auflösung der primären Th-SEE-Phase beigetragen haben. Stark oxidierende Verwitterung führte zu einer Trennung zwischen Cerium und den anderen leichten Seltene-Erden-Elementen (LSEE). Ce3+ wurde zu Ce4+ oxidiert und zusammen mit Th4+ unter Bildung sekundärer Mineralien und durch Adsorption an Eisen- und Aluminium-Oxyhydroxiden zurückgehalten. Dagegen wurden die 3-wertigen LSEE weniger stark fixiert und konnten so in grössere Tiefen gelangen. Die saisonalen Schwankungen des Infiltrationswassers in das Verwitterungsprofil könnten zum Verständnis der beobachteten Wiederholung der Schichtfolge von Th-Ce- und darunterliegenden LSEE-Anreicherungszonen beitragen.

Reden Sie mit und besuchen Sie uns.

Diskutieren Sie mit

Telefon

+41 56 437 11 11


©2021 Nagra, Nationale Genossenschaft für die Lagerung radioaktiver Abfälle