Search

Technical Report NTB 90-07

Grimsel Test Site Geophysical methods for the detection of discontinuities ahead of a tunnel face (out of print)

Download

Details

In 1988 NAGRA started a research and development program at Grimsel Test Site (GTS) to investigate the potential of geophysical remote sensing methods (radar and seismics) to predict discontinuities ahead of the tunnel face.

This task was initiated as an attempt to provide a more complete knowledge of the rockmass for a safe construction of a tunnel. If we can tell in advance where the main fracture zones are to be encountered during excavations, the safety risks as well costs of tunneling will be greatly reduced.

A number of practical goals were set to guide the studies and experiments during the project:

  • The measurements should be performed during breaks of the normal construction operation. No additional stand-by times should result for construction work.
  • The investigation depth should be in the order of at least 100 m to allow enough time for data processing and interpretation before the tunnel arrives at the located discontinuities.
  • The preparation for the measurements should not interrupt or interfere with the construction work.
  • The method should be applicable for conventional drill and blast techniques as well as for full face drilling operations

The first investigations were done using a subset from an existing data base, obtained from both radar and seismic experiments, originally recorded for a tomography project at GTS. Although the data recording, station spacing etc. were optimized for the tomographic application and far from ideal for a reflection survey, it was possible to reach some meaningful results. Reflection events were identified which could be attributed to known fracture zones and lamprophyre dykes.

Radar measurements give good results in rocks with high electrical resistance (e.g. granite, rock salt) but have a very limited investigation depth in materials with lower resistance (e.g. marls, clays). NAGRA's near future interests being focused on measurements in sediments and considering the results of the first tests, we decided to concentrate our efforts on seismics rather than radar.

After discussions with several experts, it was agreed that in this case the most adequate approach for the seismic measurements is a modified "Vertical Seismic Profiling (VSP)" technique which is well known in borehole geophysics. A more suggestive name could have been, for example, "Horizontal Tunnel Profiling" but as we liberally refer to routines developed initially for boreholes, we prefer to conserve the generic name of VSP. For a more objective evaluation of the results, conventional seismic measurements along the tunnel were also recommended.

Theoretical calculations (FD-modeling) were done to determine the optimal test layout. This study showed that, ideally, the source and the receivers should be placed at a certain distance (several meters) away from the tunnel wall. In practice this is hardly possible as it would require many boreholes to be drilled radially from the tunnel. The best compromise between theoretical and operational aspects is to place the source into a side wall drillhole at a minimum distance of about 4 m from the tunnel wall and to attach the receivers directly to the tunnel wall. In this case we expect to reduce the tunnel wave and still achieve a realistic operational time. However, as the measurements at GTS were primarily a scientific experiment, we decided not to measure only the most promising layout according to the theory, but to proceed with different test configurations to prove the validity of the theoretical results optimize the operational routine.

The following VSP configurations were tested:

  1. Receiver chain with 7 receivers in a radial borehole and a sledge hammer as the source. The shot points were placed along the tunnel with a spacing of 0.7 m.
  2. Receiver chain with 7 receivers in a radial borehole and small explosives as the source. The shot points were placed along the tunnel with a spacing of 0.7 m. The shots were fired in small holes (l= 400 mm, Φ=14 mm).
  3. Explosives in the radial borehole and receivers along the tunnel. The receiver spacing was 0.7 m.

Additionally to the VSP-type measurements we measured a conventional reflection seismic profile along the tunnel by shooting through the array. Shotpoint and receiver spacings were 0.7 m with an offset between shot and receiver of 0.35 m, leading to a CDP (Common Depth Point) spacing of 0.35 m.

The raw sections of all records showed only very weak reflections. This was caused by the very low reflectivity of the fracture zones at GTS, if compared with surveys conducted in layered sediments. Accordingly, the processing consisted of a relatively large number of steps which are not discussed in this paper in detail. In general, the direct P- and S-waves as well as the reflected S-waves were suppressed by using a median filter while the remaining P- reflections were enhanced by Image Point filtering, a method based on the generalized Radon transform developed by C. Cosma and his collaborators at Vibrometric.

A large effort has been put for the completion of this project in the development of routines for translating the geophysical results into a reliable and unambiguous geological picture. Due to the many experiments carried out previously at Grimsel Test Site (GTS), we had the possibility to compare in different phases the geophysical predictions expressed in terms of geological structure with the exhaustive information available. The agreement between predicted and real location was excellent. We were able to detect discontinuities up to distances of about 150 m.

The conventional reflection section was processed using standard seismic processing routines. Due to the weak source (sledge hammer) the investigation depth was in the order of about 40 m. Within this area a number of reflectors (mainly lamprophyre dykes) were detected. Additionally we got good reflections from a nearby tunnel. Although this test was successful we consider the VSP configuration as the better layout for the prediction measurements.

As a trial of the method in a realistic environment, VSP measurements were conducted in August 1990 in the Leissigen tunnel (a road tunnel in the canton of Bern), which was under construction at the time of the test. The processing sequences tested in earlier experiments were used. Although the circumstances were more complicated and the field conditions more difficult than in GTS, the predictions coincided well with the geological structures known or supposed to exist at the tunnel site.

Have your say and visit us.

Follow us

Telephone

+41 56 437 11 11


©2021 Nagra, National Cooperative for the Disposal of Radioactive Waste

Search

Technical Report NTB 90-07

Grimsel Test Site Geophysical methods for the detection of discontinuities ahead of a tunnel face (out of print)

Download

Details

Im Jahr 1988 startete die NAGRA ein Forschungs- und Entwicklungsprogramm im Felslabor Grimsel (FLG), um zu klären, in wie weit geophysikalische Fernerkundungsmethoden zur Vorhersage von Störungen im Vor­und Umfeld eines Tunnels eingesetzt werden können.

Dieses Projekt wurde angeregt, um eine Möglichkeit zu schaffen, umfassendere Informationen über das Gebirge im Bereich eines Tunnels zu erhalten und so die Sicherheit beim Vortrieb des Tunnels zu erhöhen. Eine frühe Kenntnis über Hauptstörungszonen im Umfeld des Tunnels können sowohl zur Reduktion des Sicherheitsrisikos und auch der Kosten führen.

Folgende praktische Ziele wurden als Leitfaden für die Studie und Experimente aufgestellt:

  • Die Messungen sollten während der Pausen des normalen Vortriebs durchgeführt werden können. Es sollten keine zusätzlichen Wartezeiten entstehen.
  • Die minimale Reichweite bei den Untersuchungen sollte 100 m betragen, um genügend Zeit für die Datenbearbeitung und Interpretation zu gewährleisten, bevor der Ausbruch die lokalisierte Störung erreicht.
  • Die Vorbereitungen für die Arbeiten sollten den Vortrieb weder behindern noch verzögern.
  • Die Methode sollte sowohl bei konventionellem Sprengvortrieb als auch beim Einsatz von Vollschnitt-Tunnelbohrmaschinen möglich sein.

Erste Untersuchungen wurden mit Hilfe eines Teils von existierenden Datensätzen aus Radar- und Seismikprojekten durchgeführt, die für Tomographieprojekte im FLG erhoben worden waren. Obwohl die Erfassung dieser Daten (Stationsabstände etc) für die Tomographieanwendung optimiert und nicht ideal für Reflexionsauswertungen war, konnten gute Resultate erreicht werden. In den prozessierten Daten konnten Reflektoren identifiziert und bekannten Störungen und Lamprophyren zugeordnet werden.

Radarmessungen führen zu guten Resultaten in Gesteinen mit hohem elektrischen Widerstand (z. B. Granit, Steinsalz) aber in Gesteinen mit geringen elektrischen Widerständen (z. B. Mergel, Ton) lassen sich nur sehr begrenzte Reichweiten realisieren. Da die NAGRA in der näheren Zukunft ihre Feldarbeiten auf Sedimentgestein fokussiert und wegen der Resultate der ersten Radartests, beschlossen wir, die Radarmethode zugunsten der Seismik zurückzustellen.

Die Diskussion mit verschiedenen Experten ergab, dass die für die gegebene Fragestellung am besten angepasste seismischen Untersuchungsmethode eine modifizierte Version der «Vertical Seismic Profiling (VSP)» -Methode ist. Diese Methode ist bekannt und erprobt in der Bohrlochgeophysik. Obwohl für diese Anwendung der besser angepasste Namen z. B. «Horizontal Tunnel Profiling» gewesen wäre, beschlossen wir den Namen VSP zu behalten. Um eine objektive Wertung der VSP-Resultate zu ermöglichen, wurden empfohlen, die Ergebnisse mit Standard-Reflexionsseismikresultaten zu vergleichen.

Theoretische Rechnungen (FD-Modellierung) wurden durchgeführt, um das optimale Layout zu ermitteln. Diese Studie zeigte, dass idealerweise die Quelle und die Empfänger in einer gewissen Entfernung von der Tunnelwand (einige Meter) plaziert werden sollten, um Tunnelwellen zu vermeiden. In der praktischen Anwendung ist dies wegen der grossen Anzahl der benötigten radialen Bohrungen nicht möglich. Der beste Kompromiss zwischen theoretischer Anforderung und praktischer Machbarkeit ist, die Quelle in einer Radialbohrung in einem minimalen Abstand von 4 m zur Tunnelwand zu plazieren und die Empfänger direkt an der Tunnelwand zu befestigen. In diesem Fall kann eine Reduktion der Tunnelwellenamplitude erreicht werden, ohne unrealistische Vorbereitungszeiten in Kauf nehmen zu müssen. Da es sich im FLG in erster Linie um ein wissenschaftliches Experiment handelte, wurde beschlossen, nicht nur das Messlayout mit den besten Erfolgschancen, sondern auch andere Möglichkeiten zu testen, um die theoretische Ergebnisse überprüfen und die Feldarbeiten optimieren zu können.

Folgende VSP-Konfigurationen wurden untersucht:

  1.  Empfängerkette mit 7 Aufnehmern in einer Bohrung radial zur Stollenachse und einer Handhammerquelle. Die Schusspunkte befanden sich im Stollen in einem Abstand von 0.7 m.
  2. Empfängerkette mit 7 Aufnehmern in einer Bohrung radial zur Stollenachse. AIs Quelle wurden Schüsse in kleinen Bohrlöchern (l= 400 mm, Φ=14 mm) verwendet. Der Schusspunktabstand betrug 0.7 m.
  3. Schüsse in den Bohrungen radial zur Stollenachse. Die Aufnehmer befanden sich in einem Abstand von je 0.7 m im Stollen.

Zusätzlich zu den VSP-Messungen wurde eine konventionelles seismisches Reflexionsprofil entlang des Stollens gemessen. Die Schuss- und Aufnehmerpunkte hatten einen Abstand von jeweils 0.7 m, wobei die Schusspunkt in der Mitte zwischen den Aufnehmerpunkten lagen. Dadurch ergab sich ein «Common Depth Point» (CDP) -Abstand von 0.35 m.

Die Rohdaten aller Sektionen zeigen, bedingt durch die geringen Reflexionskoeffizienten der Störungszonen im FLG, nur sehr schwache Refexionen. Daher war im Vergleich zu anderen Daten (z. B. reflexionsseismische Daten in Sedimenten) ein sehr umfangreiches Processing notwendig, das hier nicht in allen Einzelheiten erklärt wird. Generell wurden die direkten P-­ und S-Wellen sowie die reflektierten S-Wellen durch Medianfilter unterdrückt und die reflektierten P­-Wellen mit Hilfe der Bildpunkt-Verarbeitung (Image Point Filtering) hervorgehoben. Diese Methode basiert auf der generalisierten Radon Transformation und wurde von C. Cosma und seinen Mitarbeitern entwickelt.

Es wurden auch grosse Anstrengungen unternommen, um Programme zu entwickeln, die es erlauben, die geophysikalischen Ergebnisse in ein zuverlässliches geologisches Bild umzusetzen. Aufgrund der guten Kenntnis des FLG's aus anderen Projekten war es möglich, die gewonnenen geophysikalischen Vorhersagen in den verschiedenen Phasen der Auswertung direkt mit den bekannten geologischen Strukturen zu vergleichen.

Die Uebereinstimmung von vorhergesagter und wahrer Lokation der erkannten Strukturen war sehr gut. Es konnten Störungen bis in 150 m Entfernung lokalisiert werden.

Die konventionellen RefIexionsdaten wurden mit Standard-Processingroutinen bearbeitet. Wegen der geringen Energie der verwendeten Quelle (Handhammer) betrug die Eindringtiefe nur ca. 40 m. Innerhalb dieses Bereichs konnten mehrere Reflektoren erkannt werden (hauptsächlich Lamprophyre). Ausserdem waren Reflexionen vom benachbarten Labortunnel zu erkennen. Obwohl dieser Test recht gute Resultate ergab, zeigte es sich, dass die VSP-Methode für die Vorhersage besser geeignet ist.

Der abschliessende Test der Methode unter realistischen Bedingungen erfolgte im August 1990 im Tunnel bei Leissigen, einem Strassentunnel im Kanton Bern. Dieser Tunnel war zur Zeit der Messungen im Bau. Obwohl die Messsituation in diesem Fall komplizierter war aIs im FLG, stimmten die Vorhersagen recht gut mit den später angetroffenen Verhältnissen überein.

Reden Sie mit und besuchen Sie uns.

Diskutieren Sie mit

Telefon

+41 56 437 11 11


©2021 Nagra, Nationale Genossenschaft für die Lagerung radioaktiver Abfälle