Search

Technical Report NTB 87-08

Natural analogue studies in crystalline rock: The influence of water-bearing fractures on radionuclide in a granitic rock repository

Order

  • hard copy, English
    CHF 40.00

Download

Details

Current Swiss concepts for the disposal of radioactive waste involve disposal in deep mined repositories to ensure that only insignificant quantities of radionuclides will ever reach the surface and so enter the biosphere. The rock formations presently considered as potential candidates for hosting radwaste repositories have thus been selected on the basis of their capacity to isolate radionuclides from the biosphere. An important factor in ensuring such containment is a very low solute transport rate through the host formation. However, it is considered likely that, in the formations of interest in the Swiss programme (e.g. granites, argillaceous sediments, anhydrite) the rocks will be fractured to some extent even at repository depth. In the instance of the cumulative failure of near-field barriers in the repository, these hydraulically connected fractures in the host formation could be very important far-field routes of migration (and possible sites of retardation) of radionuclides dissolved in the groundwaters. In this context, the so-called "matrix diffusion" mechanism is potentially very important for radionuclide retardation.

This report is the culmination of a programme which has attempted to assess the potential influence of these water-bearing fractures on radionuclide transport in a crystalline rock radwaste repository. Four rock drill-cores, which intersected suspected water-conducting fractures, were examined for indications of rock­water interactions. Elemental migration (or lack of migration) in the vicinity of the fractures has been examined by means of disequilibrium in the natural decay series. The distributions of a suite of other elements were also established for each core in an attempt to define more clearly the precise nature of any observed rock-water interactions. In general, the processes involved in the transport of any of the elements studied out of the bulk rock are analogous to those which could cause retardation of dissolved radionuclides, released from the repository, by their transport into the rock – the matrix diffusion mechanism previously mentioned.

Data are presented which indicate that a significant depth of rock (up to 0.5 m) behind a water-bearing fracture may be accessible to radionuclides in the groundwaters. Detailed petrographic examination of some of the material analysed suggests that large-scale (often hydrothermally altered) damaged zones associated with the water-bearing fractures probably allow groundwater flowing in the fractures greater access to the rock matrix in the immediate vicinity. Simple calculations imply that transport in the matrix is, however, advective and not purely diffusive as envisaged in the matrix diffusion scenario. The presence of potentially large volumes of "accessible rock" is clearly very significant for radionuclide retardation in the geosphere and the implications for safety assessment are discussed briefly.

Have your say and visit us.

Follow us

Telephone

+41 56 437 11 11


©2021 Nagra, National Cooperative for the Disposal of Radioactive Waste

Search

Technical Report NTB 87-08

Natural analogue studies in crystalline rock: The influence of water-bearing fractures on radionuclide in a granitic rock repository

Bestellung

  • gedruckt, englisch
    40,00 CHF

Download

Details

Das gegenwärtige Konzept für die Entsorgung von radioaktiven Abfällen in der Schweiz stützt sich auf eine Endlagerung im tiefen Untergrund, um sicherzugehen, dass höchstens unbedeutende Mengen von Radionukliden je an die Oberfläche und somit in die Biosphäre gelangen. Die in Frage kommenden Formationen wurden aufgrund ihres Vermögens ausgesucht, Radionuklide möglichst vollständig im Endlager einzuschliessen. Dabei spielt eine niedrige Transportrate gelöster Stoffe durch die Geosphäre eine grosse Rolle. Es wird angenommen, dass die in Frage kommenden Gesteine (z. B. Granite, tonige Sedimente, Anhydrit), die in den schweizerischen Programmen untersucht werden, bis zu einem gewissen Masse auch in Endlagertiefe geklüftet sein werden. Im Moment des Versagens der technischen Barrieren eines Endlagers bekommen die hydraulisch verbundenen Klüfte im Wirtgestein eine wichtige Bedeutung für den Transport (und mögliche Retardierungsfaktoren) von gelösten Radionukliden im Grundwasser. In diesem Zusammenhang sind die Matrixdiffusions-Effekte möglicherweise ein sehr wichtiger Faktor für den verzögerten Transport von Radionukliden.

In diesem Bericht werden die Ergebnisse eines Programmes zusammengefasst, das versucht hat den Einfluss dieser wasserführenden Klüfte auf den Transport von Radionukliden im kristallinen Gestein eines potentiellen Endlagers festzustellen. Es wurden vier Bohrkerne, welche wasserführende, geklüftete Zonen durchfahren, auf Hinweise von Gestein-Wasser-Interaktionen untersucht. Die Migration von Elementen (oder deren Fehlen) in der unmittelbaren Umgebung der Klüfte wurde mit Hilfe von Aktivitätsungleichgewichten innerhalb der natürlichen Zerfallsreihen untersucht. Für jeden Bohrkern wurde ebenfalls die Konzentrationsverteilung einer Reihe anderer Elemente festgestellt, um die Natur der beobachteten Gestein-Wasser­Interaktionen klarer festlegen zu können. Generell sind die Vorgänge, die am Transport jeglicher Elemente aus dem Gestein – d. h. die Mobilität im wassergesättigten Porenraum der Gesteinsmatrix – beteiligt sind, vergleichbar mit jenen, die zur Retardierung frei gesetzter Radionuklide führen können.

Es werden Daten präsentiert, die zeigen, dass eine relativ breite Zone (bis zu 0.5 m) entlang einer wasserführenden Kluft für im Grundwasser gelöste Radionuklide erreichbar ist. Detaillierte petrographische Untersuchungen des analysierten Materials deuten an, dass grosse (oft hydrothermal umgewandelte) Störzonen, in Verbindung mit wasserführenden Klüften, dem Grundwasser aus den Klüften wahrscheinlich verstärkten Zugang zur unmittelbar anstehenden Gesteinsmatrix ermöglichen. Einfache Berechnungen bedingen advektiven Transport in der Gesteins-Matrix, wo üblicherweise jeweils nur mit Diffusionsvorgängen gerechnet wurde. Ein grösstmögliches Volumen an «erreichbarem Gestein» ist für die Retardierung von Radionukliden in der Geosphäre von grösster Wichtigkeit. Die Bedeutung solcher Phänomene für die Sicherheitsanalyse wird kurz diskutiert.

Reden Sie mit und besuchen Sie uns.

Diskutieren Sie mit

Telefon

+41 56 437 11 11


©2021 Nagra, Nationale Genossenschaft für die Lagerung radioaktiver Abfälle