Search

Technical Report NTB 86-19

Chemistry of waters in the Böttstein, Weiach, Riniken, Schafisheim, Kaisten and Leuggern boreholes: A hydrochemically consistent date set

Order

  • hard copy, English
    CHF 40.00

Download

Details

Chemical analyses were made on water samples taken from many intervals of the first six Nagra deep boreholes. Wittwer (1986, NTB 85-49) gives complete results of these analyses, evaluates their purity, and where possible, corrects them for contamination. This report evaluates the geochemical consistency of these analyses with formations from which the samples were extracted.

Most samples appear to have lost CO2 during collection, leading to calculated oversaturation with respect to calcite. Such samples were adjusted to calcite saturation, and the pH values, concentrations of carbonate species, and other saturation indices are given at that state.

Saturation indices were also calculated for the minerals dolomite, anhydrite, celestite, barite, fluorite, and the silica minerals quartz and chalcedony, all of which are present in one or more of the rock type samples. With a few exceptions there is consistency between the calculated saturation indices and the presence of the respective minerals. This indicates that both the analytical data on the components of the minerals and the mineral properties included in the thermochemical data base are reliable.

Oxidation potentials were calculated from the platinum electrode potential and from analyzed concentrations of members of several redox couples. pE values based on the arsenic couple and the assumption of uraninite saturation tend to be similar. The platinum electrode potential measured in some samples is also similar.

A thermochemical data base for aqueous species and minerals was developed to support the geochemical modeling performed for this report. This data base and the sources of the data chosen are included in an appendix.

Have your say and visit us.

Follow us

Telephone

+41 56 437 11 11


©2021 Nagra, National Cooperative for the Disposal of Radioactive Waste

Search

Technical Report NTB 86-19

Chemistry of waters in the Böttstein, Weiach, Riniken, Schafisheim, Kaisten and Leuggern boreholes: A hydrochemically consistent date set

Bestellung

  • gedruckt, englisch
    40,00 CHF

Download

Details

Wasserproben aus verschiedenen Tiefenintervallen der ersten sechs Nagra­Tiefbohrungen wurden chemisch analysiert. In Wittwer (1986, NTB 85-49) wurden alle Resultate dieser Analysen präsentiert, ihre Reinheit evaluiert und, wo möglich, eine Korrektur für Verunreinigung durchgeführt. Ziel dieses Berichts ist es, die Übereinstimmung dieser Analysen mit den Formationen, aus denen die Proben entnommen wurden, aus geochemischer Sicht zu bewerten.

Die meisten Proben haben anscheinend während der Entnahme CO2 verloren, was zu einer Calcit-Übersättigung führt. Solche Proben wurden auf Calcit-Sättigung korrigiert, und die pH-Werte, die Konzentrationen der Karbonatspezies und andere Sättigungsindizes werden für diesen korrigierten Zustand angegeben.

Sättigungsindizes wurden auch für die Minerale Dolomit, Anhydrit, Celestit, Baryt, Fluorit und die Silikat-Minerale Quarz und Chalzedon berechnet; diese Minerale sind alle in einer oder mehreren Proben der verschiedenen Gesteinstypen vorhanden. Mit einigen Ausnahmen stimmen die berechneten Sättigungsindizes gut mit dem Auftreten der entsprechenden Mineralen überein. Diese Tatsache zeigt auf, dass sowohl die analytisch bestimmten Mineralbestandteile als auch die in der thermodynamischen Datenbasis gespeicherten Mineraleigenschaften zuverlässig sind.

Oxidationspotentiale wurden aus dem Platinelektroden-Potential und analysierten Konzentrationen einiger Redoxpaare berechnet. pE-Werte, die sich auf das Arsen-Paar und auf die Annahme einer Uraninit-Sättigung stützen, zeigen gewisse Ähnlichkeiten, dies gilt ebenso für einige Wasserproben, die mit einer Platinelektrode gemessen wurden.

Eine thermochemische Datenbasis für wässrige Spezies und Minerale wurde für die in diesem Bericht durchgeführte geochemische ModelIierung entwickelt. Diese Datenbasis, zusammen mit den entsprechenden Datenquellen, wird in einem Anhang dokumentiert.

Reden Sie mit und besuchen Sie uns.

Diskutieren Sie mit

Telefon

+41 56 437 11 11


©2021 Nagra, Nationale Genossenschaft für die Lagerung radioaktiver Abfälle