Search

Technical Report NTB 85-33

Nuclide Release from the Near-Field of a L/ILW Repository

Order

  • hard copy, English
    CHF 30.00

Download

Details

For Project Gewähr 1985, the release of nuclides from a repository for low- and intermediate-level radioactive waste is calculated. The calculations are made for a reference design repository located in the marl host rock at the Oberbauenstock reference site. The results are limited to the release of the nuclides from the waste through the engineered barriers into the surrounding host rock and will, therefore, constitute a source term for the far-field and biosphere calculations.

The most probable nuclide transport mechanism is diffusion and releases are thus influenced by the nuclide diffusivities in the barriers, nuclide sorption and nuclide solubility limits. Degradation of the engineered concrete barriers is taken into account. The effects of convective flow through the barriers are described elsewhere.

A near-field release model is presented. It consists of a set of computer programs suited to handle different repository designs, solubility limitations and the different waste categories.

The release calculations were made for a base case in which best estimates of the parameters were used. Sensitivity to the choice of the most important parameters was tested by parameter variations. The numerical models used were checked by comparative calculations with different codes and similar data.

The results of the base case calculations show that near-field barriers will cause both a delay of the release to the far-field and a reduced rate of release.

The sorbed nuclides, comprising the actinides and some activation and fission products, will be delayed by 10'000 years and have a maximum release rate of less than 10-3 Ci/a each. The non-sorbed nuclides are delayed by only about 100 years and the maximum release rate is less than 10-2 Ci per year and nuclide.

The parameter variations and the design model tests gave only limited deviations from the base case results.

Have your say and visit us.

Follow us

Telephone

+41 56 437 11 11


©2021 Nagra, National Cooperative for the Disposal of Radioactive Waste

Search

Technical Report NTB 85-33

Nuclide Release from the Near-Field of a L/ILW Repository

Bestellung

  • gedruckt, englisch
    30,00 CHF

Download

Details

Die Radionuklidfreisetzung aus einem Endlager für schwach- und mittelaktive Abfälle wird für Projekt Gewähr 1985 berechnet. Die Berechnungen werden für ein Referenzendlager im Wirtgestein Valanginienmergel am Sondierstandort Oberbauenstock durchgeführt. Die Ergebnisse beschränken sich auf die Abfallnuklidfreisetzung durch die technischen Barrieren ins umgebende Wirtgestein und bilden damit einen Quellterm für die Fernfeld- und Biosphären-Berechnungen.

Die Diffusion ist der wahrscheinlichste Transportmechanismus für die Radionuklide, der somit durch die Nukliddiffusivitäten in den Barrieren, die Nuklidsorption und die Löslichkeitsgrenzen der verschiedenen Nuklide beeinflusst wird. Der allmähliche Zerfall der technischen Betonbarrieren wird berücksichtigt. Die Einwirkungen des konvektiven Flusses durch die Barrieren werden nicht behandelt.

Ein Modell für die Nahfeldfreisetzung wird präsentiert. Es besteht aus einem Satz von Computerprogrammen, die verschiedene Endlagerkonzepte, Löslichkeitsgrenzen und verschiedene Abfallkategorien zu berücksichtigen vermögen.

Die Freisetzungsberechnungen wurden für einen Basisfall durchgeführt, abgestützt auf die bestmöglichen Schätzungen der Parameter. Die Sensitivität der Wahl der wichtigsten Parameter wurde mit Parametervariationen getestet. Die numerischen Modelle wurden durch vergleichende Berechnungen mit verschiedenen Codes und ähnlichen Daten geprüft.

Die Ergebnisse der Basisfall-Berechnungen zeigen, dass die Nahfeldbarrieren sowohl eine Verzögerung der Freisetzung ins Fernfeld als auch eine Reduktion der Freisetzungsraten verursachen.

Die sorbierenden Nuklide, d. h. die Aktinide und manche Aktivierungs- und Spaltprodukte, werden um 10'000 Jahre verzögert und haben je eine maximale Freisetzungsrate von weniger als 10-3 Ci/a. Die nichtsorbierenden Nuklide werden nur um ca. 100 Jahre verzögert, die maximale Freisetzungsrate beträgt weniger als 10-2 Ci pro Jahr und Nuklid.

Die Parametervariationen und die Modelltests ergaben nur kleine Abweichungen von den Basisfall­Ergebnissen.

Reden Sie mit und besuchen Sie uns.

Diskutieren Sie mit

Telefon

+41 56 437 11 11


©2021 Nagra, Nationale Genossenschaft für die Lagerung radioaktiver Abfälle