Search

Technical Report NTB 85-26

Modelling of Solute Transport in the Near Field of a High Level Waste Repository

Order

  • hard copy, English
    CHF 30.00

Download

Details

The effects on solute transport of the bentonite backfill in the storage tunnel of an underground repository for high-level radioactive waste have been studied by means of mathematical models.

 

The study concerns a hypothetical site, whose characteristics, however, with respect to geology, hydrology and geochemistry, have been derived from field observations. The models used to simulate migration processes are described, together with justifications for assumptions and with verification of methods.

 

The results, presented as time histories of release fluxes up to at least one million years, demonstrate the delaying effect of the bentonite on both solubility-limited and highly soluble nuclides. The time required for the mass transport leads to the effective elimination of many nuclides with shorter half-lives before any significant release to the geosphere.

 

Calculations have also been made to establish a conservative estimate of the rate of supply of corrosive sulphide ions to the metallic waste containers. Results and consequences of these computations are also discussed.

Have your say and visit us.

Follow us

Telephone

+41 56 437 11 11


©2021 Nagra, National Cooperative for the Disposal of Radioactive Waste

Search

Technical Report NTB 85-26

Modelling of Solute Transport in the Near Field of a High Level Waste Repository

Bestellung

  • gedruckt, englisch
    30,00 CHF

Download

Details

Die Wirkung von Bentonit als Verfüllmaterial in einem Lagerstollen für hochaktiven radioaktiven Abfall auf den Transport gelöster Stoffe wurde mittels mathematischer Modelle untersucht.

 

Die Studie bezieht sich auf eine hypothetische Lagerstätte, die jedoch in Bezug auf ihre geologische, hydrologische und geochemische Situation mit Hilfe von Feldbeobachtungen charakterisiert wurde. Die Entwicklung der für die Simulation von in diesem Rahmen auftretenden Ausbreitungsprozessen benützten Modelle ist dargestellt, einschliesslich Begründungen für getroffene Annahmen sowie Verifizierungen.

 

Die Resultate, in Form von Freisetzungsraten als Funktion der Zeit bis zu mindestens einer Million Jahre dargestellt, zeigen die verzögernde Wirkung von Bentonit auf die Ausbreitung sowohl von begrenzt löslichen als auch von gut löslichen Nukliden. Viele Nuklide mit relativ kurzen Halbwertzeiten werden praktisch eliminiert, bevor sie die Geosphäre erreichen.

 

Zugleich konnte die Rate, mit der korrosionsauslösende Sulfidionen den Behälter erreichen, konservativ geschätzt werden. Die Resultate und Konsequenzen dieser Berechnungen werden ebenfalls diskutiert.

Reden Sie mit und besuchen Sie uns.

Diskutieren Sie mit

Telefon

+41 56 437 11 11


©2021 Nagra, Nationale Genossenschaft für die Lagerung radioaktiver Abfälle