Search

Technical Report NTB 84-49

FEM 301 A Three Dimensional Model for Groundwater Flow Simulation

Download

Details

The purpose of this report is to describe program FEM 301. Program FEM 301 is a three-dimensional, finite element numerical model which solves the steady-state groundwater flow equation. Following a brief description of the mathematical model upon which the numerical model is based, the finite element approximation to the flow equation is presented. The solution method employed by FEM 301 is the frontal elimination technique of IRONS (1970).

The general structure of program FEM 301 is described as are the required input files and the generated output file. The listing of FEM 301 is included as Annex A3. As numerous pre­ and post-processing routines have been developed specifically for use with FEM 301 they are also presented.

Several sample problems and verification tests depict the application of FEM 301 to typical hydrogeologic problems. The principal application of FEM 301 has been, however, to evaluate the deep crystalline groundwater flow regime in central northern Switzerland. This application is described in a companion report NTB 84-50 (Kimmeier et al., 1985).

Have your say and visit us.

Follow us

Telephone

+41 56 437 11 11


©2021 Nagra, National Cooperative for the Disposal of Radioactive Waste

Search

Technical Report NTB 84-49

FEM 301 A Three Dimensional Model for Groundwater Flow Simulation

Download

Details

Das in diesem Bericht beschriebene Rechenprogramm FEM 301 ist ein dreidimensionales numerisches Modell, beruhend auf der Methode der finiten Elemente und dient der Lösung stationärer Grundwasserfliessprobleme. Anschliessend an eine kurze Beschreibung der mathematischen Grundlagen wird die Näherungslösung mit Hilfe der finiten Element-Methode dargestellt. Das Programm FEM 301 verwendet die «frontal elimination»-Technik nach IRONS (1970).

Neben der Programmstruktur werden auch die entsprechenden Ein-­ und Ausgabe-Datensätze beschrieben (das gesamte Rechenprogramm findet sich in Anhang A3). Ebenfalls aufgeführt sind die zahlreichen verschiedenen, speziell für den Gebrauch von FEM 301 entwickelten Pre- und Postprocessing-Verfahren.

Etliche Problembeispiele zeigen die Anwendung von FEM 301 auf typische hydrogeologische Fragestellungen. Hauptsächlich wurde das Programm FEM 301 jedoch dafür eingesetzt, die Grundwasserfliessverhältnisse im tieferen Kristallin der zentralen Nordschweiz wiederzugeben. Diese Anwendung wird im gleichzeitig erscheinenden NTB 84-50 (Kimmeier et al., 1985) behandelt.

Reden Sie mit und besuchen Sie uns.

Diskutieren Sie mit

Telefon

+41 56 437 11 11


©2021 Nagra, Nationale Genossenschaft für die Lagerung radioaktiver Abfälle