Search

Technical Report NTB 84-32

An assessment of the corrosion resistance of the high-level waste containers proposed by Nagra

Order

  • hard copy, English
    CHF 20.00

Download

Details

The Nagra concept for the final disposal of high-level radioactive waste includes a container ensuring isolation of the waste from the groundwater for a period of time of at least 1'000 years. Two types of containers are proposed by Nagra in current feasibility projects: the first type, for reprocessed vitrified waste is designed as a self-supporting shell; the material is cast steel GS-40. The second type, for spent fuel, is an adaptation of Swedish designs in which the spent fuel elements are cast in lead inside a thick-walled copper container.

The assessment of the corrosion resistance of these containers is based on the conditions expected in a repository in the crystalline bedrock of northern Switzerland. The groundwater is reducing, with salinity up to seawater level and a high sulphate content.

Under these conditions the only significant contributions to the corrosion of copper come from residual oxygen trapped in the bentonite used as backfill material and from sulphate, if it is assumed that the latter can be reduced to sulphide by microbial activity. This is certainly a very conservative assumption, since it implies that sufficient populations of appropriate bacteria can be supported under repository conditions, but it cannot be ruled out on present-day evidence. The use of this together with other conservative assumptions leads to the conclusion that the maximum penetration by corrosion will not exceed 40 mm in 1'000 years.

For iron the same mechanisms must be considered; the stoichiometry, however, is more favourable and the attack is expected to be less uneven than in copper. This results in a maximum depth of attack of 9 mm in 1'000 years. To this must be added a contribution from the direct reduction of water; the relatively few relevant literature data combined with the results of the Nagra corrosion programme indicate that the maximum penetration from this mechanism will not exceed 20 mm in 1'000 years. If the conservatively assessed contributions of the residual oxygen and the sulphate are added to this, a maximum penetration of less than 30 mm in 1'000 years is obtained.

The conclusions are reached using conservative assumptions. The evidence is well documented in the case of copper; it is slightly less complete in the case of iron, but confirming evidence should result from a sustained qualification programme.

Have your say and visit us.

Follow us

Telephone

+41 56 437 11 11


©2021 Nagra, National Cooperative for the Disposal of Radioactive Waste

Search

Technical Report NTB 84-32

An assessment of the corrosion resistance of the high-level waste containers proposed by Nagra

Bestellung

  • gedruckt, englisch
    20,00 CHF

Download

Details

Das Konzept der Nagra für die Endlagerung hochaktiver Abfälle sieht einen Behälter vor, der die Abfälle vom Grundwasser während einer Zeit von mindestens 1000 Jahren isoliert. Zwei Behältertypen werden von der Nagra im Rahmen der gegenwärtigen Projekte zur grundsätzlichen Machbarkeit der Endlagerung vorgeschlagen; der eine, der für verglasten, wiederaufbereiteten Abfall vorgesehen ist, ist als selbsttragende Schale konzipiert; das Material ist Stahlguss GS-40; der andere, für die direkte Endlagerung abgebrannter Brennelemente, ist eine Anpassung schwedischer Entwürfe; dabei werden die Brennelemente in Blei innerhalb eines dickwandigen Kupferbehälters eingegossen.

Die Beurteilung des Korrosionswiderstandes dieser Behälter, die Gegenstand dieses Berichtes ist, basiert auf den in einem Endlager im kristallinen Grundgebirge der Nordschweiz zu erwartenden Bedingungen. Das Grundwasser ist reduzierend mit Salzgehalten bis auf Meerwasserniveau und hoher Sulfatkonzentration. Unter diesen Bedingungen stammen die einzigen bedeutenden Beiträge zur Korrosion aus dem Restsauerstoff im als Verfüllmaterial verwendeten Bentonit und aus dem Sulfat, unter der Annahme, dass dieses durch mikrobielle Aktivität zu Sulfid reduziert werden kann. Diese Annahme ist zweifellos sehr konservativ: sie setzt voraus, dass sich ausreichende Kolonien bestimmter Bakterien unter Endlagerbedingungen entwickeln können. Eine solche Entwicklung kann aber aufgrund der gegenwärtigen Kenntnisse nicht ausgeschlossen werden. Unter dieser sowie weiteren konservativen Annahmen kann der Schluss gezogen werden, dass die maximal zu erwartende Angriffstiefe kleiner ist als 40 mm in 1'000 Jahren.

Bei Eisen müssen dieselben Reaktionen berücksichtigt werden; gegenüber Kupfer ist einerseits die Stöchiometrie günstiger und andererseits ein gleichmässigerer Angriff zu erwarten. Daraus ergibt sich eine maximale Angriffstiefe von weniger als 9 mm in 1'000 Jahren. Dazu kommt ein Beitrag aus der direkten Reduktion von Wasser; es gibt diesbezüglich verhältnismässig wenige relevante Daten, die aber alle darauf hinweisen, dass die maximale Angriffstiefe nicht über 20 mm in 1'000 Jahren betragen wird. Wenn dazu die konservativ ermittelten Beiträge des Sauerstoffs und des Sulfats gezählt werden, so ergibt sich eine gesamte Angriffstiefe von weniger als 30 mm in 1'000 Jahren.

Diese Schlussfolgerungen wurden aufgrund konservativer Annahmen abgeleitet. Der Nachweis ist im Falle von Kupfer gut dokumentiert. Für Eisen ist er etwas weniger vollständig, doch ist zu erwarten, dass ein entsprechendes Qualifikationsprogramm die Schlussfolgerungen des Berichtes bestätigen wird.

Reden Sie mit und besuchen Sie uns.

Diskutieren Sie mit

Telefon

+41 56 437 11 11


©2021 Nagra, Nationale Genossenschaft für die Lagerung radioaktiver Abfälle