Search

Technical Report NTB 17-13

The development of a thermodynamic sorption data base for montmorillonite and the application to bentonite

Order

  • hard copy, English
    CHF 20.00

Download

Details

Over the past two decades measurements on the uptake of radionuclides on montmorillonite in the form of sorption edges and isotherms have been performed. The metals investigated include Co(II), Ni(II), Cd(II), Zn(II), Fe(II), Eu(III), Am(III), Sn(IV), Th(IV), Np(V), Pa(V) and U(VI), and all of these data are presented here. The two site protolysis non electrostatic surface complexation cation exchange (2SPNE SC/CE) sorption model has been applied to successfully model this extensive experimental sorption data set. Previously published results were not always modelled with the same set of thermodynamic data, particularly the hydrolysis constants. In this work the all of the sorption measurements have been consistently (re)modelled with the same selected hydrolysis constant data set and the modelled curves presented.

The conclusions from sorption competition studies are presented and discussed: briefly, chemically similar metals (valence state, hydrolysis behaviour) sorb on the same set of strong sites and exhibit sorption competition, chemically dissimilar metals sorb on different strong site sets and do not compete with one another. This information was used to construct linear free energy relationships (LFERs) between surface complexation constants and the appropriate corresponding aqueous hydrolysis constants separately for divalent transition metals, trivalent lanthanides/actinides and tetravalent actinides. LFERs provide a means for estimating surface site binding constants for metals where the data are either very poor or non-existent and thus allow sorption values to be calculated. How well such a procedure may (or may not) work was illustrated in an exercise where surface complexation constants for specific metals were taken from the appropriate LFERs and used to calculate sorption edges/isotherms which were then compared with the measured sorption values. A general methodology for using LFERs to calculate the sorption of metals for which no sorption data exist is suggested and applied to predict sorption edges/isotherms for Mn(II), Cu(II), Pu(III), U(IV), Np(IV) and Pu(IV).

In a final exercise to test the capabilities of the 2SPNE SC/CE sorption model, and the associated model parameters, to quantitatively describe the uptake of radionuclides in complex MX-80 bentonite/porewater systems, blind model predictions were made of sorption isotherms which were then compared with the measured values. The main assumption was that the sorption on MX-80 bentonite is controlled by the montmorillonite content.

The main conclusion drawn from this work is that the tables of surface complexation constants and cation exchange selectivity coefficients given and used in conjunction with the LFERs and the 2SPNE SC/CE sorption model, provide a powerful means of calculating the sorption of many radionuclides in complex porewater/bentonite systems. Together they constitute a Thermodynamic Sorption Data Base (TSDB) for montmorillonite/bentonite systems.

Have your say and visit us.

Follow us

Telephone

+41 56 437 11 11


©2021 Nagra, National Cooperative for the Disposal of Radioactive Waste

Search

Technical Report NTB 17-13

The development of a thermodynamic sorption data base for montmorillonite and the application to bentonite

Bestellung

  • gedruckt, englisch
    20,00 CHF

Download

Details

Im Verlauf der letzten beiden Jahrzehnte wurden Untersuchungen zur Aufnahme von Radionukliden in Montmorillonit in Form von Messungen von Sorptionskanten und ‑isothermen durchgeführt. Die untersuchten Metalle umfassen Co(II), Ni(II), Cd(II), Zn(II), Fe(II), Eu(III), Am(III), Sn(IV), Th(IV), Np(V), Pa(V) und U(VI) und alle entsprechenden Messdaten werden in diesem Bericht präsentiert. Der extensive experimentelle Datensatz wurde erfolgreich mit dem "two site protolysis non electrostatic surface complexation cation exchange" (2SPNE SC/CE) Sorptionsmodell modelliert. Früher publizierte Resultate wurden nicht immer mit demselben Satz von Hydrolysekonstanten ausgewertet. In diesem Bericht werden deshalb sämtliche Sorptionsmessungen noch einmal mit einem konsistenten Satz von Hydrolysekonstanten modelliert und die so erhaltenen Sorptionskurven präsentiert.

Lineare Freie-Energie-Beziehungen ("linear free energy relationships", LFERs) zwischen Oberflächenkomplexierungskonstanten und entsprechenden wässrigen Hydrolysekonstanten wurden separat für zweiwertige Übergangsmetalle, dreiwertige Lanthaniden/Actiniden und vierwertige Actiniden abgeleitet. Die LFER-Methode ermöglicht es, Oberflächenkomplexierungskonstanten abzuschätzen, falls experimentelle Daten von schlechter Qualität sind oder gänzlich fehlen, um so Sorptionswerte zu berechnen. Wie gut oder schlecht solch eine Schätzmethode funktioniert, wird an einem Beispiel erläutert, wo Oberflächenkomplexierungskonstanten für spezifische Metalle mittels LFERs abgeschätzt wurden, um damit Sorptionskanten und -isothermen zu berechnen, die dann mit experimentellen Sorptionswerten verglichen wurden. Zudem wird eine generelle Methodik vorgeschlagen, um LFER zur Berechnung der Metallsorption in Fällen zu verwenden, wo keine Sorptionsdaten vorhanden sind. Sie wird auf die Voraussage von Sorptionskanten und -isothermen für Mn(II), Cu(II), Pu(III), U(IV), Np(IV) und Pu(IV) angewandt.

Schliesslich wird die Fähigkeit des 2SPNE SC/CE-Sorptionsmodells und der damit verbundenen Modellparameter geprüft, die Aufnahme von Radionukliden in komplexen MX-80-Bentonit/ Porenwassersystemen quantitativ zu beschreiben. Dazu wurden Blindvoraussagen gemacht und mit gemessenen Sorptionsdaten verglichen. Die Hauptannahme dabei war, dass die Sorption an MX-80-Bentonit durch den Gehalt an Montmorillonit kontrolliert wird.

Die Hauptschlussfolgerung der vorliegenden Arbeit lautet, dass die vorgestellten Tabellen mit Oberflächenkomplexierungskonstanten und Selektivitätskoeffizienten für Kationenaustausch in Verbindung mit der LFER-Methode und dem 2SPNE SC/CE-Sorptionsmodell ein leistungsfähiges Mittel sind, um die Sorption vieler Radionuklide in komplexen Porenwasser/Bentonit-Systemen zu berechnen, und sie stellen eine eigentliche thermodynamische Sorptionsdatenbank für Montmorillonit/Bentonitsysteme dar.

Reden Sie mit und besuchen Sie uns.

Diskutieren Sie mit

Telefon

+41 56 437 11 11


©2021 Nagra, Nationale Genossenschaft für die Lagerung radioaktiver Abfälle