Search

Technical Report NTB 14-13

High-level waste repository-induced effects

Order

  • hard copy, English
    CHF 20.00

Download

Details

This status report aims at describing and assessing the interactions of the radioactive waste emplaced in a high-level waste (HLW) repository with the engineered materials and the Opalinus Clay host rock. The Opalinus Clay has a thickness of about 100 m in the proposed siting regions. Among other things the results are used to steer the RD&D programme of Nagra. The reposi­tory-induced effects considered in this report are of the following broad types:

  • Thermal effects: i.e. effects on the host rock and engineered barriers arising principally from the heat generated by the waste
  •  Rock-mechanical effects: i.e. effects arising from the mechanical disturbance to the rock caused by the excavation of the emplacement rooms and other underground structures
  • Hydraulic and gas-related effects: i.e. the effects of repository resaturation and of gas generation, e.g. due to the corrosion of metals within the repository, on the host rock and engineered barriers
  • Chemical effects: i.e. chemical interactions between the waste, the engineered materials and the host rock, with a focus on chemical effects of the waste and engineered materials on the host rock

The assessment of the repository-induced effects shows that detrimental chemical and mechani­cal impacts are largely confined to the rock immediately adjacent to the excavations, thermal impacts are controllable by limiting the heat load and gas effects are limited by ensuring acceptably low gas production rates and by the natural tendency of the gas to escape along the excavations and the excavation damaged zone (EDZ) rather than through the undis­turbed rock. Specific measures that are part of the current reference design are discussed in relation to their significance with respect to repository-induced effects.
 

The SF/HLW emplacement rooms (emplacement drifts) are designed, constructed, operated and finally backfilled in such a way that formation of excavation damaged zones is limited. Speci­fically this is achieved by restricting the size of the excavations and the depth of the repository, using a low-deforma­tion, controlled construction and excavation method and by the fact that the excavations will be backfilled relatively soon after construction with a swelling backfill material. At expected repository depths, the rooms will need to be supported to ensure stability and worker protection; this will prevent rock falls and further extension of the EDZ. Based on the modelling results, it can be concluded that the extent of the EDZ around the HLW emplace­ment rooms will not exceed a thickness of one room diameter and that the average hydraulic conduc­tance of the EDZ around emplacement rooms, access tunnels and shafts will not exceed a value of 10-7 m3/s. Self-sealing of the EDZ and low hydraulic gradients along the tunnels will result in negli­gible radio­nuclide transport by the EDZ pathway.
 

The relevant chemical interactions are taken into account when designing and assessing the per­formance of a HLW repository. In the current reference design, tunnel support is provided by a concrete liner. It is expected that degra­da­tion of the liner and corrosion of the steel canister and other supporting structures will lead to some alteration of the bentonite buffer and Opalinus Clay. These detri­mental effects are taken into account in dose calculations and have been found not to have a signi­ficant impact on the calculated dose rates.
 

For the reference gas generation rates, the gas transport capacity of the Opalinus Clay is suffi­ciently high to dispel gas without invoking pathway dilation as a gas transport mechanism and without causing damage to the rock. Even if potential transport pathways for gas along the exca­va­tions and EDZ are disregarded, overpressures that would lead to the onset of pathway dilation are reached only in cases combining conservative gas generation rates with a low-permeability host rock, and these overpressures are still insufficient to cause rock damage. It is noted that such calculations do not incor­po­rate transport of gas along the EDZ, which has a lower gas entry pressure than undisturbed Opalinus Clay.
 

The effects of heat from the HLW on the engineered and geological barriers cannot be com­pletely eliminated, but can be kept low by ensuring a sufficient duration of interim storage, limiting canister loading and a suitable canister emplacement density.

Have your say and visit us.

Follow us

Telephone

+41 56 437 11 11


©2021 Nagra, National Cooperative for the Disposal of Radioactive Waste

Search

Technical Report NTB 14-13

High-level waste repository-induced effects

Bestellung

  • gedruckt, englisch
    20,00 CHF

Download

Details

Das Ziel dieses Statusberichts ist es, in einem geologischen Tiefenlager für hochaktive Abfälle (HAA-Lager) die wechselseitige Beeinflussung von eingelagertem Abfall und eingebauten bautechnischen Materialien spezifisch auf das in den vorgeschlagenen Standortgebieten etwa 100 m mächtige Wirtgestein Opalinuston zu untersuchen, um das F&E-Programm der Nagra gezielter ausrichten zu können. Die im vorliegenden Bericht untersuchten lagerbedingten Einflüsse sind dabei:

  • Thermische Effekte: D.h. Auswirkungen auf das Wirtgestein und die technischen Barrieren, die vor allem durch die vom Abfall bedingte Zerfallswärme verursacht werden
     
  • Felsmechanische Effekte: D.h. Auswirkungen, die von der mechanischen Beanspruchung des Gesteins durch den Vortrieb der Lagerstollen und weiterer Untertagbauten hervorgerufen werden
     
  • Hydraulische und durch Gasbildung bedingte Effekte: D.h. Auswirkungen durch die Wiederaufsättigung des Tiefenlagers und Gasbildung beispielsweise aufgrund von Metallkorrosion im Tiefenlager auf Wirtgestein und technische Barrieren
     
  • Chemische Effekte: D.h. chemische Wechselwirkungen von Abfall, bautechnischen Materialien und Wirtgestein, jedoch mit Schwerpunkt auf chemische Auswirkungen von Abfall und bautechnischen Materialien auf das Wirtgestein

Das Erfassen der lagerbedingten Einflüsse zeigt, dass sich chemischen und mechanischen Beeinträchtigungen auf das Gestein in unmittelbarer Umgebung der Untertagbauten beschränken. Die thermischen Auswirkungen werden durch die Begrenzung der Wärmelast kontrollierbar und diejenigen der Gasakkumulation werden durch niedrige Gasproduktionsraten und durch die Gasfreisetzung entlang der Auflockerungszone (AUZ) und einem tieferen Gaseintrittsdruck in der AUZ als im ungestörten Opalinuston eingeschränkt. Spezifische Massnahmen werden als Teil des Referenzkonzepts im Hinblick auf deren Wirksamkeit, die lagerbedingten Einflüsse zu begrenzen, diskutiert.
 

Die HAA-Lagerstollen wurden so ausgelegt, gebaut, betrieben und schliesslich verfüllt, dass die Bildung einer Auflockerungszone (AUZ) möglichst begrenzt wird. Dies wird erreicht, indem die Grösse der Ausbruchzonen und die Tiefenlage des Lagers begrenzt werden, eine gebirgsschonende, kontrollierte Ausbruch- und Ausbaumethode angewendet wird und dadurch, dass die Lagerstollen relativ schnell nach ihrem Ausbruch wieder mit einem quellenden Tonmaterial verfüllt werden. Auf entsprechender Lagertiefe werden die Lagerstollen durch Stützmittel ausgebaut, um deren Stabilität und die Arbeitssicherheit zu gewährleisten. Dadurch wird Nachfall und eine weitere Ausdehnung der AUZ verhindert. Basierend auf Modellrechnungen kann abschliessend festgehalten werden, dass sich die AUZ nicht über einen Tunnelquerschnitt hinaus ausdehnt und dass das mittlere hydraulische Leitvermögen der AUZ um Lagerstollen, Zugangstunnel und Schächte einen Wert von 10-7 m3/s nicht übersteigt. Die anschliessende Selbstabdichtung der AUZ und die niedrigen hydraulischen Gradienten entlang der Bau- und Betriebstunnel führen zu einem vernachlässigbaren Radionuklidtransport durch die AUZ.
 

Chemische Wechselwirkungen werden sowohl bei der Planung als auch bei der Bewertung der Sicherheit eines HAA-Lagers in Betracht gezogen. Im derzeitigen Referenzkonzept ist ein Tunnelausbau mit Beton vorgesehen. Die Degradation des Betons und die Korrosion von Stahlbehältern und anderen stahlhaltigen Stützelementen werden die Bentonitverfüllung zu einem gewissen Grad umwandeln. Diese Umwandlungen werden in die Dosisberechnungen mit einbezogen und zeigen keinen signifikanten Einfluss auf die resultierende Dosis.
 

Die Gastransportfähigkeit von Opalinuston ist ausreichend, um für den Referenzfall das Regime der dilatanzkontrollierten Gasausbreitung als Gastransportmechanismus zu vermeiden und somit die Schädigung des Wirtgesteins zu verhindern. Auch wenn die AUZ als möglicher Transportpfad für Gas entlang der Ausbruchzonen bei den Gastransportmodellierungen nicht berücksichtigt wird, werden Überdrücke, die zu einer dilatanzkontrollierten Gasausbreitung führen könnten, nur dann erreicht, wenn konservative Annahmen zur Gasproduktion mit einem für Gas gering durchlässigen Wirtgestein kombiniert würden. Allerdings würden solche Überdrücke zu keiner signifikaten Schädigung des Gesteins führen.
 

Die Auswirkungen des Wärmeeintrags auf die technischen und geologischen Barrieren können in einem HAA-Lager zwar nicht vollständig eliminiert, jedoch durch eine entsprechend lange Zwischenlagerung, eine Begrenzung der Behälterladung sowie eine geeignete Einlagerungsdichte niedrig gehalten werden.

Reden Sie mit und besuchen Sie uns.

Diskutieren Sie mit

Telefon

+41 56 437 11 11


©2021 Nagra, Nationale Genossenschaft für die Lagerung radioaktiver Abfälle