Search

Technical Report NTB 08-12

Corrosion of carbon steel under anaerobic conditions in a repository for SF and HLW in Opalinus Clay

Order

  • hard copy, English
    CHF 30.00

Download

Details

Nagra is considering carbon steel as one of the canister material options for the disposal of highlevel waste and spent fuel in a deep geological repository in Opalinus Clay. Following a brief period of aerobic conditions, the canister will be exposed to an anaerobic environment for much of its service life. Knowledge of the rate of anaerobic corrosion is important not only for estimating the canister lifetime but also for determining the rate of hydrogen generation.

This report describes a critical review of the anaerobic corrosion behaviour of carbon steel under environmental conditions similar to those expected in the repository. The aims of the report are:

  1. to recommend a (range of) long-term anaerobic corrosion rate(s) for carbon steel canisters, and
  2. to justify the use of this rate in safety assessments based on a mechanistic understanding of the structure and properties of the protective corrosion product films.

The review is based on selected studies from various national nuclear waste management programs, supplemented where appropriate with studies from other applications and with evidence from archaeological analogues.

The corrosion rate of carbon steel decreases with time because of the formation of a protective surface film. There are differences in behaviour in bulk solution and in the presence of compacted bentonite. In bulk solution, the corrosion rate decreases to an apparent steady-state rate after a period of approximately six months, with a long-term rate of the order of 0.1 μm⋅yr-1. The surface film comprises a duplex structure, with a magnetite outer layer and a spinel-type inner layer. In compacted clay systems the rate of decrease in corrosion rate is slower, with steadystate not being reached after several years of exposure. There is a significant body of evidence from apparently well-conducted experiments that indicate an anaerobic corrosion rate of the order of 1 – 2 μm⋅yr-1 in systems containing compacted clay and the protective films tend to be carbonate-based rather than magnetite-based.

There is no evidence in the literature that the use of a constant long-term corrosion rate for safety assessment purposes is not justified. Factors that are important in determining the structure and properties of the corrosion product film are reviewed, including the effects of the aerobicanaerobic transition on the film composition and structure, possible spalling of protective films, and the effect of the accumulation of corrosion products on the corrosion rate of the underlying steel.

Have your say and visit us.

Follow us

Telephone

+41 56 437 11 11


©2021 Nagra, National Cooperative for the Disposal of Radioactive Waste

Search

Technical Report NTB 08-12

Corrosion of carbon steel under anaerobic conditions in a repository for SF and HLW in Opalinus Clay

Bestellung

  • gedruckt, englisch
    30,00 CHF

Download

Details

Für die Entsorgung hochaktiver Abfälle und abgebrannter Brennelemente in einem geologischen Tiefenlager im Opalinuston zieht die Nagra Kohlenstoffstahl als eine der Materialoptionen für den Endlagerbehälter in Betracht. Nach einer kurzen Periode in einer aeroben Umgebung werden die Behälter für den Grossteil ihrer Lebensdauer anaeroben Bedingungen ausgesetzt sein. Kenntnis der anaeroben Korrosionsrate ist nicht nur wichtig, um die Behälterlebensdauer abzuschätzen, sondern auch, um die Produktionsrate von Wasserstoff zu bestimmen.

Dieser Bericht enthält einen kritischen Review des anaeroben Korrosionsverhaltens von Kohlenstoffstahl unter Bedingungen, wie sie im Tiefenlager erwartet werden. Die Ziele des Berichtes sind

  1. eine anaerobe Langzeit-Korrosionsrate für Kohlenstoffstahlbehälter vorzuschlagen, und
  2. basierend auf einem mechanistischen Verständnis der Struktur und der Eigenschaften des Korrosionsproduktefilms die Verwendung dieser Langzeit-Korrosionsrate in Sicherheitsanalysen zu rechtfertigen.

Der Review basiert auf ausgewählten Studien aus verschiedenen nationalen Entsorgungsprogrammen, die, wo angemessen, durch Studien aus anderen Gebieten und mit Hinweisen aus archäologischen Analoga ergänzt wurden.

Die Korrosionsgeschwindigkeit von Kohlenstoffstahl nimmt aufgrund der Bildung eines schützenden Films aus Korrosionsprodukten mit der Zeit ab. Das Korrosionsverhalten ist unterschiedlich in Wasser und in wassergesättigtem kompaktiertem Bentonit. In Wasser nähert sich die Korrosionsgeschwindigkeit nach ungefähr sechs Monaten einer scheinbaren (“apparent”) stationären Langzeitrate in der Grössenordnung von 0.1 μm⋅a-1. Der Korrosionsproduktefilm besteht aus einer Doppelstruktur mit einer äusseren Magnetitschicht und einer inneren spinellartigen Schicht. In kompaktierten Tonsystemen nimmt die Korrosionsgeschwindigkeit langsamer ab und eine stationäre Rate ist selbst nach einigen Jahren noch nicht erreicht. Eine signifikante Anzahl von qualitativ hochwertigen Experimenten weist auf eine anaerobe Korrosionsgeschwindigkeit hin in der Grössenordnung von 1 – 2 μm⋅a-1 für Systeme in einer Umgebung in wassergesättigtem kompaktiertem Ton, und die schützenden Korrosionsproduktefilme sind tendenziell karbonathaltig anstatt magnetithaltig.

Es gibt keine Hinweise in der Literatur, dass die Verwendung einer konstanten Langzeit-Korrosionsrate in Sicherheitsanalysen nicht gerechtfertigt ist. Faktoren, die bei der Bestimmung der Struktur und Eigenschaften des Korrosionsproduktefilms wichtig sind, werden bewertet, einschliesslich der Auswirkungen des Übergangs von aeroben zu anaeroben Bedingungen auf die Zusammensetzung und Struktur des Films, das mögliche Abplatzen des schützenden Films sowie die Auswirkung der Akkumulation von Korrosionsprodukten auf die Korrosionsraten des darunterliegenden Stahls.

Reden Sie mit und besuchen Sie uns.

Diskutieren Sie mit

Telefon

+41 56 437 11 11


©2021 Nagra, Nationale Genossenschaft für die Lagerung radioaktiver Abfälle