Search

Technical Report NTB 03-08

Cellulose Degradation at Alkaline Conditions: Long-Term Experiments at Elevated Temperatures

Download

Details

The degradation of pure cellulose (Aldrich cellulose) and cotton cellulose at the conditions of an artificial cement pore water (pH 13.3) has been measured at 60 °C and 90 °C for reaction times between 1 and 2 years. The purpose of the experiments is to establish a reliable relationship between the reaction rate constant for the alkaline hydrolysis of cellulose (mid-chain scission), which is a slow reaction, and temperature. The reaction products formed in solution are analysed for the presence of the two diastereomers of isosaccharinic acid using high performance anion exchange chromatography combined with pulsed amperometric detection (HPAEC-PAD), other low-molecular weight aliphatic carboxylic acids using high performance ion exclusion chromatography (HPIEC) and for total organic carbon. The remaining cellulose solids are analysed for dry weight and degree of polymerisation. The degree of cellulose degradation as a function of reaction time is calculated based on total organic carbon and on the dry weight of the cellulose remaining.

The degradation of cellulose observed as a function of time can be divided in three reaction phases observed in the experiments: (i) an initial fast reaction phase taking a couple of days, (ii) a slow further reaction taking ~100 days and (iii) a complete stopping of cellulose degradation levelling-off at ~60 % of cellulose degraded. The experimental findings are unexpected in several respects: (i) The degree of cellulose degradation as a function of reaction time is almost identical for the experiments carried out at 60 ° C and 90 °C, and (ii) the degree of cellulose degradation as a function of reaction time is almost identical for both pure cellulose and cotton cellulose. It can be concluded that the reaction behaviour of the materials tested cannot be explained within the classical frame of a combination of the fast endwise clipping of monomeric glucose units (peeling-off process) and the slow alkaline hydrolysis at the temperatures tested here. It may be hypothesised that the alkaline hydrolysis has even not been observed in the experiments. However, if this is true, cellulose degradation proceeded via another unknown type of reaction. Mass balances for carbon show that the large majority of reaction products found in solution can be explained by formation of isosaccharinic acids and other low-molecular weight carboxylic acids.

With respect to long-term predictions for cellulose degradation at room temperature it can be concluded that the kinetic parameters for alkaline hydrolysis as proposed in the work of PAVASARS (Linköping Studies in Arts and Science, 196, Linköping University, Sweden, 1999) are too large and that complete cellulose degradation at these temperatures occurs only within time scales larger than hundreds of years. However, it is not possible from the experimental evidences, to corroborate the validity of a linear extrapolation (“Arrhenius equation”) of the reaction rates measured at temperatures between ~140 and 190 °C to room temperature, from which it was previously concluded that complete cellulose degradation would take time spans of the order of millions of years.

An interesting observation in the present experiments is the chemical instability of ­isosaccharinic acid at 90 ° C, which has been hypothetically interpreted as a fragmentation induced by the sorption of α-isosaccharinic acid on Ca(OH)2. Carbon mass balances show that -isosaccharinic acid is thereby transformed to other low­molecular weight carboxylic acids. Such a reaction would be an interesting long-term perspective for performance assessment of the disposal of cellulose-containing radioactive waste, in that it may reduce the concentration of organic compounds strongly complexing radionuclides.

Have your say and visit us.

Follow us

Telephone

+41 56 437 11 11


©2022 Nagra, National Cooperative for the Disposal of Radioactive Waste

Search

Technical Report NTB 03-08

Cellulose Degradation at Alkaline Conditions: Long-Term Experiments at Elevated Temperatures

Bestellung

  • gedruckt, englisch
    20,00 CHF

Download

Details

Der Abbau von reiner Cellulose und Baumwolle wurde unter den Bedingungen eines künstlichen Zementporenwassers (pH 13.3) bei Temperaturen von 60 °C und 90 °C über Zeiträume von 1 bis 2 Jahren verfolgt. Ziel der Experimente ist es, einen verlässlichen Zusammenhang zwischen Temperatur und der Reaktionsgeschwin­digkeitskonstante für die alkalische Spaltung, einer sehr langsamen Abbaureaktion der Cellulose, zu erhalten. Die löslichen Reaktionsprodukte wurden in ihrer Zusammensetzung auf die Konzentrationen der beiden Diastereomere der Isosaccharinsäure mittels Anionenaustauschchromatographie kombiniert mit gepulster amperometrischer Detektion (HPAEC-PAD), auf die Konzentrationen anderer kurzkettiger aliphatischer Carbonsäuren mittels Ionenausschlusschromatographie (HPIEC), sowie auf die totale Konzentration von organischem Kohlenstoff untersucht. In den unlöslichen Rückständen der Cellulose wurde die Kettenlänge durch Messung des Polymerisationsgrades ermittelt. Der Abbaugrad der Cellulose als Funktion der Reaktionszeit wurde aufgrund der Resultate der Kohlenstoffmessung, sowie des Gewichts der unlöslichen Rückstände berechnet.

Der beobachtete Abbau der Cellulose kann in drei Reaktionsphasen unterteilt werden: (i) eine sehr schnelle Anfangsphase von wenigen Tagen, (ii) eine langsamere Weiterreaktion über einen Zeitraum von ca. 100 Tagen und (iii) ein vollständiger Reaktionsstop nach Abbau von ca. 60 % der anfänglich vorhandenen Cellulosemenge. Diese experimentellen Befunde überraschen in doppelter Hinsicht: Der Abbaugrad als Funktion der Reaktionszeit unterscheidet sich nur unmerklich zwischen (i) den Experimenten bei 60 °C und jenen bei 90 °C und (ii) zwischen reiner Cellulose und Baumwolle. Als Konsequenz davon kann das Abbauverhalten dieser Materialien im untersuchten Temperaturbereich nicht im Rahmen des klassischen Reaktionsschemas einer Kombination des schnellen Abspaltens endständiger Glucoseeinheiten («Peeling­-off Prozess») und der langsamen alkalischen Spaltung beschrieben werden. Im Hinblick auf die vorhandenen Inkonsistenzen liegt der Schluss nahe, dass die alkalische Spaltung im Endeffekt gar nicht beobachtet werden konnte. Allerdings reichen die Kenntnisse über den «Peeling-off Prozess» auch nicht aus, um insbesondere den weitgehenden Abbau im Fall von Baumwolle ausreichend zu erklären; dieser müsste folglich über einen bisher nicht beschriebenen Reaktionsweg erfolgen. Massenbilanzen für Kohlenstoff zeigen, dass die Abbaureaktion weitestgehend mit der Bildung von Isosaccharinsäure und anderen kurzkettigen Carbonsäuren beschrieben werden kann.

Im Hinblick auf Vorhersagen zum langfristigen Abbauverhalten von Cellulose bei Raumtemperatur lässt sich die Schlussfolgerung ziehen, dass die von PAVASARS (Linköping Studies in Art and Science, Linköping Universität, Schweden, 1999) vorgeschlagenen Reaktionsgeschwindigkeitskonstanten für die alkalische Spaltung zu hoch sind und dass ein vollständiger Abbau von Cellulose bei diesen Temperaturen nur in einem Zeitbereich von mehreren hundert Jahren erfolgen kann. Allerdings ist es aufgrund der Resultate nicht möglich, die Gültigkeit der linearen Extrapolation («Arrhenius Beziehung») von Reaktionsgeschwindigkeiten, welche bei Temperaturen zwischen 140 und 190 °C gemessen worden waren, auf Raumtemperatur zu erhärten. Unter diesen Gegebenheiten würde der vollständige alkalische Abbau von Cellulose Millionen von Jahren erfordern.

Eine interessante Beobachtung im Rahmen der durchgeführten Experimente ist die chemische Reaktivität der -Isosaccharinsäure bei 90 °C, welche hypothetisch mit einer Fragmentierung interpretiert wird, die durch Sorption von α-Isosaccharinsäure auf Ca(OH)2 induziert wird. Massenbilanzen für Kohlenstoff zeigen, dass die ­Isosaccharinsäure hierbei in andere kurzkettige Carbonsäuren umgewandelt wird. Eine solche Reaktion wäre im Hinblick auf die Sicherheit für die geologische Tiefenlagerung cellulosehaltiger radioaktiver Abfälle insofern von Interesse, als sie die Konzentration stark komplexierender organischer Verbindung herabsetzen könnte.

Reden Sie mit und besuchen Sie uns.

Diskutieren Sie mit

Telefon

+41 56 437 11 11


©2021 Nagra, Nationale Genossenschaft für die Lagerung radioaktiver Abfälle