Search

Technical Report NTB 02-06

Project Opalinus Clay: Models, Codes and Data for Safety Assessment Demonstration of disposal feasibility for spent fuel, vitrified high-level waste and long-lived intermediate-level waste (Entsorgungsnachweis)

Download

Details

The present report is designed to provide readers with the necessary information to perform, if they so wish, independent checks of the results of the evaluation of the "assessment cases" described in the Safety Report (Nagra 2002c) for Project Entsorgungsnachweis. It also describes the conceptual models and corresponding codes for the near field, geosphere and biosphere that were used in the safety assessment to evaluate the assessment cases, including the reasons why they are considered adequate for their intended purposes, and the operational elements and procedures that were used to manage the required large number of calculations. Models and codes not described in this report are the supporting models used to derive parameter values for the near field, geosphere and biosphere codes, and to support model assumptions. These include, for example, groundwater flow models, mechanistic models of sorption, temperature evolution models, waste dissolution models, etc., and are described in the Project Entsorgungsnachweis reference reports.

An assessment case is a specific set of assumptions regarding the broad evolution of the repository and its environment, the conceptualisation of individual features, events and processes (FEPs) relevant to the fate of radionuclides within the disposal system and the parameters used to describe these FEPs. In the safety assessment, a broad range of assessment cases is analysed in order to illustrate the impact of various detrimental FEPs and uncertainties on the level of safety provided by the disposal system. The assessment cases are defined, the underlying reasoning documented and the results of their analysis presented in the Safety Report. In the interests of transparency, the Safety Report presents these descriptions in a mainly qualitative fashion, without exhaustively documenting all relevant formulae and data. The present report complements the Safety Report with a comprehensive description of models, codes and data and thus provides traceability within the safety assessment. The two reports together satisfy the assessment principle (see Chapter 2 of the Safety Report) that the development of the safety case and its results should be documented in manner that provides both transparency and traceability.

In the safety assessment for Project Entsorgungsnachweis, assessment cases are divided into a number of groups, according to the issues or uncertainties that they address. The main part of the present report focuses, in turn, on groups of assessment cases that explore:

  • the consequences of particular scenario, conceptual and parameter uncertainties, where this range can be bounded with reasonable confidence on the basis of available scientific understanding,
  • more speculative "what if?" possibilities that are considered in order test the robustness of the disposal system,
  • various design or system options, and
  • different stylised possibilities for the characteristics and evolution of the surface environment ("biosphere").

Overviews are given of the conceptual models underlying the assessment cases and the various assumptions and simplifications that are made in order to arrive at sets of mathematical equations and input parameters so that each case can be evaluated using corresponding computer codes, with references to appendices that give detailed descriptions of the codes and the equations that they solve, as well as tables containing the data used and the data source. In the appendices, descriptions are given of the capabilities of each code in terms of the phenomena (or "Super-FEPs") that they address. This is important within the FEP management procedure to allow an evaluation of the suitability of a given code to address a given Super-FEP (Nagra 2002d). It is shown that the codes used are sufficiently versatile to evaluate all the required assessment cases. There are a few safety-relevant phenomena that the codes are not "qualified" to evaluate, but, in all cases, either significant effects can be ruled out by supplementary studies (e.g. for criticality), effects are intrinsically favourable to safety and can be conservatively neglected (e.g. transport resistances in the SF / HLW near field), or parameters (e.g. canister breaching time) can be chosen to ensure that calculations err on the side of pessimism.

In addition to the models and codes used to analyse the assessment cases, simplified insight models are used to examine particular aspects of system performance and sensitivity to key system properties and model assumption. The insight models are described in Chapter 9.

The deterministic evaluation of assessment cases is complemented by probabilistic calculations to build further system understanding and, in particular, to indicate the performance of the system for parameter combinations not analysed by deterministic calculations. The computational tool used to sample input parameters from probability density functions (PDFs) and the PDFs themselves are described in Appendices 2 and 3, respectively.

Except for a few cases, no justifications are given in the present report for the model assumptions made and no final or intermediate results are presented, except where this is considered to help understanding. For a full presentation of results and a justification of assumptions, the reader is referred to the Safety Report and the reference reports.

It is, however, noted that all assessment cases are evaluated using, to some extent, pessimistic or conservative conceptual assumptions, parameters and model simplifications, resulting in calculated doses that should be regarded as upper bounds for, rather than predictions of, expected doses. To assess the degree of bias introduced by such assumptions, the modelling approaches used to evaluate each assessment case are examined systematically in Chapter 10. It first summarises the various assumptions and simplifications made in order to arrive at sets of mathematical equations and input parameters so that each case can be quantitatively evaluated, and then it assesses these assumptions and simplifications in terms of their degree of realism, pessimism or conservatism. This information is then used as a tool to systematically assess the bias that has been introduced into the models ("bias audit").

Have your say and visit us.

Follow us

Telephone

+41 56 437 11 11


©2022 Nagra, National Cooperative for the Disposal of Radioactive Waste

Search

Technical Report NTB 02-06

Project Opalinus Clay: Models, Codes and Data for Safety Assessment Demonstration of disposal feasibility for spent fuel, vitrified high-level waste and long-lived intermediate-level waste (Entsorgungsnachweis)

Bestellung

  • gedruckt, englisch
    70,00 CHF

Download

Details

Der vorliegende Bericht hat zum Ziel, alle Informationen zu dokumentieren, die für den unabhängigen Nachvollzug der in Nagra (2002c) enthaltenen Resultate aller Rechenfälle für das Projekt Entsorgungsnachweis notwendig sind. Er beschreibt die konzeptuellen Modelle und entsprechenden Rechencodes für das Nahfeld, die Geosphäre und die Biosphäre, die in der Sicherheitsanalyse für die Durchführung der Rechenfälle Verwendung fanden, sowie die in der Datenverarbeitung der grossen Anzahl durchzuführender Rechenfälle benutzten Werkzeuge. Der Bericht nennt ferner die Gründe, wieso die eingesetzten Rechencodes als für den vorgesehenen Verwendungszweck geeignet gelten. Nicht im vorliegenden Bericht dokumentiert sind die Modelle und Rechencodes, die für die Herleitung von Parameterwerten für die Nahfeld-, Geosphären- und Biosphären-Rechencodes und für die Begründung von Modellannahmen Verwendung fanden. Hierzu gehören zum Beispiel Grundwassermodelle, mechanistische Sorptionsmodelle, Temperaturverlaufsmodelle und Abfallauflösungsmodelle. Diese Modelle und Rechencodes sind in den Referenzberichten des Projekts Entsorgungsnachweis beschrieben.

Ein Rechenfall ist definiert durch die spezifische Konzeptualisierung bestimmter Vorgänge und Ereignisse (abgekürzt mit der englischen Bezeichnung FEPs für «features, events and processes»), die für den Verbleib der Radionuklide im Lagersystem relevant sind, sowie durch die in der Modellierung dieser FEPs benutzten Parameter. In der Sicherheitsanalyse werden neben dem Referenzfall eine breite Palette von Rechenfällen mit dem Ziel untersucht, den Einfluss von ungünstigen FEPs und Ungewissheiten auf die Sicherheit des Lagersystems zu illustrieren. Die Definition der Rechenfälle, die Dokumentation der zugrundeliegenden Argumentation und die Präsentation der Resultate der Analyse erfolgt im Sicherheitsbericht.

In der Sicherheitsanalyse für das Projekt Entsorgungsnachweis werden die Rechenfälle gemäss dem Typ der untersuchten Fragestellung oder Ungewissheit gruppiert. Der Hauptteil des vorliegenden Berichts befasst sich, in dieser Reihenfolge, mit den Rechenfall-Gruppen zur Untersuchung

  • der Konsequenzen von bestimmten Ungewissheiten in Bezug auf Szenarien, Konzeptualisierungen und Parametern, deren Schwankungsbereich sich aufgrund des vorhandenen wissenschaftlichen Verständnisses hinreichend zuverlässig eingrenzen lässt,
  • von spekulativen Möglichkeiten (englisch „what if?“ possibilities), die auf das Testen der Robustheit des Lagersystems abzielen,
  • von Auslegungs- und System-Optionen,
  • verschiedener stilisierter Möglichkeiten der Erscheinungsformen und Entwicklungen der Erdoberfläche (Biosphäre).

Zu Gunsten der Transparenz erfolgt diese Beschreibungen im Sicherheitsbericht in qualitativer Art, d. h. ohne mathematische Gleichungen und unter Verzicht auf eine voll-ständige Dokumentation aller Eingabeparameter. Der vorliegende Bericht ergänzt den Sicherheitsbericht mit einer umfassenden Beschreibung von Modellen, Rechencodes und Daten und gewährleistet damit die Nachvollziehbarkeit der Sicherheitsanalyse. Zusammen erfüllen diese zwei Berichte das Prinzip der Transparenz und Nachvollziehbarkeit der Dokumentation des Sicherheitsnachweises, wie im Kap. 2 des Sicherheitsberichts gefordert.

Der vorliegende Bericht enthält Beschreibungen der konzeptuellen Modelle, auf denen die Rechenfälle basieren, sowie der getroffenen Annahmen und Vereinfachungen bei der Ableitung der mathematischen Gleichungssysteme und Eingabeparameter, die eine Behandlung der Rechenfälle mit den entsprechenden Rechencodes erlauben. Detaillierte Beschreibungen der Rechencodes, unter Angabe der zu lösenden mathematischen Gleichungssysteme, und deren Eingabeparameter sind in den Berichtsanhängen enthalten. Besonderes Augenmerk wird aus Sicht des FEP-Managements auf die Anwendungsbereiche der Rechencodes in Bezug auf die modellierbaren Phänomene («Super-FEPs») gelegt. In Nagra (2002d) wird gezeigt, dass alle identifizierten Rechenfälle mit den verfügbaren Rechencodes in geeigneter Art und Weise analysiert werden können (Eignung der Rechencodes). Einige wenige sicherheits-relevante Phänomene sind mit den verfügbaren Rechencodes nicht angemessen behandelbar. Ergänzende Studien zeigen aber, dass die damit verbundenen Effekte entweder unbedeutend sind (z. B. Kritikalität) oder sich günstig auf die Lagersicherheit auswirken und deswegen konservativ vernachlässigt werden dürfen (z. B. residualer Transportwiderstand der BE/HAA-Behälter nach dem Zeitpunkt ihres Versagens), oder aber es lassen sich Parameterwerte wählen (z. B. Zeitpunkt des Versagens der BE/HAA-Behälter), die gewährleisten, dass die damit erzielten Resultate auf der pessimistischen Seite liegen.

Zusätzlich zu den Modellen und Rechencodes, die bei der Analyse der Rechenfälle zur Anwendung gelangen, wurden vereinfachte Modelle (englisch «insight models») entwickelt, die das Verständnis spezieller Aspekte des Systemverhaltens verbessern und die es erlauben, Sensitivitäten in Bezug auf Schlüsseleigenschaften des Lagersystems oder Modellannahmen aufzuzeigen. Diese vereinfachten Modelle sind im Kapitel 9 beschrieben.

Die deterministischen Untersuchungen der Rechenfälle werden ergänzt durch probabilistische Modellrechnungen. Diese zielen auf ein vertieftes Systemverständnis ab und gewähren einen systematischen Einblick in das Systemverhalten auch für diejenigen Parameterkombinationen, welche durch die deterministischen Modellrechnungen nicht abgedeckt sind. Das verwendete Rechenwerkzeug zur Stichprobenentnahme und die Verteilungsfunktionen sind in den Anhängen 2 und 3 beschrieben.

Die Begründung von Modellannahmen und die Präsentation von Zwischen- und Endresultaten sind nicht Bestandteil des vorliegenden Berichts, ausser wenn dies für das Verständnis der Ausführungen erforderlich ist. Die umfassende Dokumentation der Resultate und die Begründung der Modellannahmen sind im Sicherheitsbericht und in den Referenzberichten zu finden.

Zum Schluss sei darauf hingewiesen, dass alle Rechenfälle teilweise, aber in unterschiedlichem Ausmass, auf pessimistischen oder konservativen Modellannahmen, Parametern und Vereinfachungen beruhen. Um den so eingeführten Grad an Realitätsabweichung festzuhalten, wurden die Modellannahmen systematisch und für jeden Rechenfall individuell auf ihre Realitätsnähe geprüft (Kapitel 10). Dazu wurden die unterschiedlichen Modellannahmen und Vereinfachungen zur Herleitung der mathematischen Gleichungen und Eingabeparameter eines jeden Rechenfalles aufgelistet und sodann auf ihren Grad an Realitätsnähe (realistisch, pessimistisch, konservativ) beurteilt. Diese Informationen dienen als Werkzeug zur systematischen Erfassung der in den Modellen enthaltenen Realitätsabweichung (englische Bezeichnung dieses Prozesses: «bias audit»).

Reden Sie mit und besuchen Sie uns.

Diskutieren Sie mit

Telefon

+41 56 437 11 11


©2021 Nagra, Nationale Genossenschaft für die Lagerung radioaktiver Abfälle