Search

Technical Report NTB 01-04

Calculations of the Temperature Evolution of a Repository for Spent Fuel, Vitrified High-Level Waste and Intermediate Level Waste in Opalinus Clay

Order

  • hard copy, English
    CHF 30.00

Download

Details

Thermal evolution is an important aspect of the performance of a repository for nuclear waste, because elevated temperatures affect many processes influencing the behaviour of engineered barrier systems and the host rock. The thermal evolution of a repository for spent fuel, high-level waste (HLW) and intermediate level waste (ILW) has been evaluated. The repository is assumed to be located at a depth of 650 m in the Opalinus Clay formation in northern Switzerland. The disposal system consists of spent fuel and HLW, encapsulated within steel canisters that are emplaced within horizontal tunnels, with the space between the canisters and the surrounding rock backfilled with bentonite. Waste emplacement tunnels are spaced 40 m apart. Concrete containers of ILW are placed in separate emplacement tunnels, with the void space around the containers filled with cementitious mortar.

The initial heat output of the waste and the rate of its decrease with time due to radioactive decay depends on the nature of the waste. For the case of spent fuel, some canisters contain only UO2 assemblies, while others contain both UO2 and MOX (mixed oxide) fuel assemblies. The initial heat output of both canister types is restricted to 1500 W/canister, but the time-dependent heat output of the UO2/MOX canisters declines more slowly, as a result of significantly higher Pu content. For HLW canisters, the initial heat output is ~700 W and it decreases more rapidly than is the case for spent fuel, because of the low actinide content of HLW.

The temperature evolution of the engineered barrier system and surrounding rock is simulated using a finite-element model, using reference data for the thermal properties of spent fuel, HLW, bentonite backfill and Opalinus Clay. The results show that the surface temperatures of both the HLW and spent fuel canisters reach a maximum value of ~150°C within a few years after emplacement, although the HLW canister temperature decreases much more rapidly than for the case of spent fuel canisters. The temperatures within the bentonite depend strongly on the assumptions regarding its water content. For the expected low water inflow rates in a repository in low permeability Opalinus Clay, the bentonite has a low thermal conductivity and the temperature at the point midway between spent fuel canisters and the bentonite/host rock interface will reach a maximum of ~110°C. For HLW canisters, the mid-point of the bentonite will not exceed 100°C. Host rock temperatures remain below ~90°C at all times. In the unlikely event of a more rapid rate of inflow of water from the Opalinus Clay, the bentonite thermal conductivity is significantly greater and temperatures at the canister/bentonite interface and throughout the bentonite are markedly reduced.

For the case of ILW tunnels, a boundary element model is used to calculate temperature evolution, taking into consideration the hydration heat of the concrete mortar and radioactive decay. It is found that the maximum temperature reached within the engineered barrier system is ~50°C, about 12°C more than the ambient temperature in the Opalinus Clay at a depth of 650 m.

Have your say and visit us.

Follow us

Telephone

+41 56 437 11 11


©2021 Nagra, National Cooperative for the Disposal of Radioactive Waste

Search

Technical Report NTB 01-04

Calculations of the Temperature Evolution of a Repository for Spent Fuel, Vitrified High-Level Waste and Intermediate Level Waste in Opalinus Clay

Bestellung

  • gedruckt, englisch
    30,00 CHF

Download

Details

Die thermische Entwicklung ist ein wichtiger Faktor für das Systemverhalten eines Lagers für radioaktive Abfälle, weil erhöhte Temperaturen viele Prozesse beeinflussen, welche sich auf das Verhalten der technischen Barrieren und des Wirtgesteins auswirken. Im vorliegenden Bericht wird die thermische Entwicklung eines Lagers für abgebrannte Brennelemente, verglaste hochaktive Abfälle (HAA) und langlebige mittelaktive Abfälle (LMA) bewertet. Dabei wird angenommen, dass sich das Lager in einer Tiefe von 650 m im Opalinuston der Nordschweiz befindet. Das Lagersystem besteht aus abgebrannten Brennelementen und HAA, die in Stahlbehältern eingeschlossen und in horizontalen Stollen eingelagert werden. Der Hohlraum zwischen Behältern und umgebendem Gestein wird mit Bentonit verfüllt. Die Einlagerungsstollen weisen einen Abstand von 40 m auf. Betoncontainer mit LMA werden in separaten Tunnels eingelagert, wobei der Hohlraum um die Container mit Zementmörtel verfüllt wird.

Die anfängliche Wärmeproduktion der Abfälle und deren Abnahme im Laufe der Zeit infolge radioaktiven Zerfalls hängen von der Beschaffenheit des Abfalls ab. Einige Behälter enthalten ausschliesslich UO2-Brennelemente, während andere Behälter sowohl UO2- als auch MOX (Mixed Oxide)-Brennelemente enthalten. Die anfängliche Wärmeproduktion beider Behältertypen ist begrenzt auf 1500 W/Behälter, wobei die Wärmeproduktion der UO2/MOX-Behälter aufgrund des signifikant höheren Pu-Gehalts langsamer abnimmt. Die Wärmeproduktion der HAA-Behälter beträgt am Anfang ca. 700 W/Behälter und nimmt aufgrund des niedrigen Aktinidengehalts schneller ab als diejenige von abgebrannten Brennelementen.

Die Temperaturentwicklung der technischen Barrieren und des umgebenden Gesteins wurde mittels eines Finite-Element-Modells simuliert, unter Verwendung von Referenzdaten für die thermischen Eigenschaften von abgebrannten Brennelementen, HAA, Bentonit und Opalinuston. Die Resultate zeigen, dass die Oberflächentemperatur sowohl der Brennelement- als auch der HAA-Behälter innerhalb weniger Jahre nach Einlagerung ein Maximum von ca. 150°C erreicht. Die HAA-Behältertemperatur nimmt allerdings viel schneller ab als diejenige der Brennelement-Behälter. Die Temperaturen im Bentonit hängen stark vom angenommenen Wassergehalt ab. Im Falle der erwartet geringen Wasserzuflussraten aus dem geringdurchlässigen Opalinuston in das Lager weist Bentonit eine geringe thermische Leitfähigkeit auf und die Temperatur in der Mitte zwischen den Brennelement-Behältern und dem Wirtgestein beträgt maximal ca. 110°C. Im Falle der HAA-Behälter bleibt die Temperatur in der Bentonitmitte unter ca. 100°C. Die Temperaturen im Wirtgestein bleiben für alle Zeiten unter ca. 90°C. Im unwahrscheinlichen Fall eines erhöhten Wasserzuflusses aus dem Opalinuston fällt die thermische Leitfähigkeit von Bentonit signifikant höher aus und die Temperaturen an der Behälteroberfläche und im Bentonit sind deutlich vermindert.

Für die Berechnung der Temperaturentwicklung in den LMA-Tunnels wurde ein Boundary-Element-Modell verwendet, das die Wärmeentwicklung infolge Hydratation und radioaktiven Zerfalls berücksichtigt. Die Resultate zeigen, dass die Temperatur innerhalb des technischen Barrierensystems maximal ca. 50°C erreicht, 12°C über der Umgebungstemperatur im Opalinuston in 650 m Tiefe.

Reden Sie mit und besuchen Sie uns.

Diskutieren Sie mit

Telefon

+41 56 437 11 11


©2021 Nagra, Nationale Genossenschaft für die Lagerung radioaktiver Abfälle