Search

Technical Report NTB 00-07

Grimsel Test Site Investigation Phase IV: The Nagra-JAEA in situ study of safety relevant radionuclide retardation in fractured crystalline rock III: The RRP project final report

Order

  • hard copy, English
    CHF 30.00

Download

Details

To enhance the understanding of radionuclide transport/retardation in fractured rock, Nagra and JAEA worked together for nearly 15 years on a Radionuclide Migration Programme (RMP) at Nagra’s Grimsel Test Site (GTS). This started with the MI (Migration Experiment) project and moved on to EP (Excavation Project) and the CP (Connected Porosity) project. Traditionally, studies such as MI produce data for the overall flow system "seen" by the radionuclides. These data are then modelled to produce a set of "best fit" bulk or average values for the transport/ retardation parameters. However, the model values obtained may not be an unique solution and, from this process, no detailed information is obtained about where the retardation actually takes place. The extrapolation from one site, or flow system, to another where properties are different can only be done, if the underlying processes are well understood.

This is a key issue as, in practice, the geosphere around a radioactive waste repository will not be exhaustively explored, due to the necessity to maintain favourable characteristics in as unperturbed a state as possible. Hence, it is essential that extrapolations from nearby or similar sites, where such restrictions do not apply, can be justified by a thorough understanding of the factors influencing in situ radionuclide transport and retardation. As part of this strategy, Nagra and JAEA proposed another experiment which took a step further than MI – EP.

The Nagra-JAEA Excavation Project (EP) was a very challenging project where, for the first time, radionuclide cocktails of strongly sorbing radionuclides with complex chemistries were injected into a water-conducting shear zone, followed by the excavation of the traced part of the shear zone (approximately two tonnes of rock). The development, improvement and testing of new methodologies and techniques was required owing to the complexity of the project and to the scale of the in situ experiment. The extensive efforts that were undertaken in order to guarantee a successful experiment also required a series of laboratory and field tests at the GTS, the latter wherever possible under conditions closely resembling the final experiment.

The Excavation Project (EP) began in 1990 with the Phase I feasibility study and continued in Phase II with an extensive campaign of laboratory and field tests between 1994 and 1996. This final report provides a summary of the Phase III work, which included:

  • Injection of four different radionuclide cocktails into the EP test zone that was established in the AU96 experimental shear zone (MI shear zone) at the GTS.
  • Continuous monitoring of radiotracer breakthrough at the outlet borehole followed by stabilisation of the rock volume containing the retarded radionuclides by in situ resin impregnation.
  • Excavation of the stabilised rock volume by shear zone-parallel overcoring for sample recovery and laboratory investigations.
  • Radiochemical analysis on solid shear zone samples and detailed structural geological investigation of the flow-path geometry within the dipole.

One of the aims of EP was to examine the behaviour of PA (performance assessment) relevant radionuclides and so those nuclides selected for consideration in Nagra’s Kristallin-1 PA and JAEA’s TRU-I PA were examined. The final selection was
 

238U, 235U and 234U:safety relevant

237Np:safety relevant

99Tc:safety relevant

152Eu:considered to be a good chemical analogue for other lanthanides and trivalent actinides

60Co:good chemical analogue for safety relevant 59Ni and easier to obtain and simpler to analyse than 59Ni

75Se:complete chemical analogue of safety relevant 79Se, but much shorter half-life (120 days against 65 ka)

113Sn:complete chemical analogue of safety relevant 126Sn, but much shorter half-life (115 days against 100 ka)

stable Mo:complete chemical analogue of safety relevant 93Mo (half-life of 3.5 ka)

Scoping calculations indicated that the low natural solubilities of these radionuclides in the Grimsel groundwater/rock system meant that the likely activities retained in the shear zone would be significantly below the detection limits of any surface analytical and radiochemical methods available at the time. Consequently, it was decided to alter the focus of the experiment by injecting much higher levels of radionuclides into the system than would be feasible under normal solubility controls (by injecting the radionuclides in acidified solutions). Obviously, this meant that the geochemistry of the system would no longer be realistic, but the information which would be provided on transport pathways (from the labelling of the flow-paths by the radionuclides) would still be of great value for testing conceptual models of transport in complex flow systems.

Consideration was given to determine the flowpath geometry by simply injecting resin into the flow-field, but this was rejected for two reasons:

  • There were indications that the resin might not impregnate minor flow-paths, owing to viscosity and polymerisation limitations.
  • It was felt that carrying out such an experiment with safety relevant radionuclides would build the necessary experience required to conduct similar future studies in the Swiss and Japanese programmes on repository-relevant systems. Further, experience in handling high activities and α-emitters would increase confidence in what can be achieved in URLs overall.

As such, the behaviour of the radionuclides in the flow system cannot be directly used in PA calculations, but they proved invaluable in mapping out actual flow-paths in this highly complex flow system. Analysis of the so labelled flow-paths clearly showed the impact of double porosity transport and the complexities of flow and retardation in three dimensions (3D) where fracture "branches" and fracture fill "islands" all play a role. The significance of retardation in the fracture fill compared to the matrix for strongly retarded radionuclides should not be overlooked. This is probably a good reflection of what will happen in a fractured repository host rock, with strongly sorbing radionuclides having little chance to access the matrix when so many sites of retardation exist in the fracture filling material.

Have your say and visit us.

Follow us

Telephone

+41 56 437 11 11


©2022 Nagra, National Cooperative for the Disposal of Radioactive Waste

Search

Technical Report NTB 00-07

Grimsel Test Site Investigation Phase IV: The Nagra-JAEA in situ study of safety relevant radionuclide retardation in fractured crystalline rock III: The RRP project final report

Bestellung

  • gedruckt, englisch
    30,00 CHF

Download

Details

Die Nagra und JAEA arbeiteten fast 15 Jahre im Radionuklid-Migrationsprogramm (Radionuclide Migration Programme RMP) des Felslabors Grimsel (FLG) zusammen, um das Verständnis von Radionuklidtransport/-retardation in geklüftetem Gestein zu verbessern. Das Projekt begann mit dem MI-Experiment (Migrationsversuch, «Radionuclide Migration Experiment») und wurde mit dem EP-Experiment (Exkavationsprojekt, «Excavation Project») und CP-Experiment (Verbundene Porosität, «Connected Porosity») fortgeführt. Üblicherweise generieren Studien – wie beispielsweise das MI-Experiment – Daten für das gesamte Fliesssystem, welches die Radionuklide auf ihrem Transportpfad «sehen». Solche Daten werden dann modelliert, um eine Reihe von «Best-Fit»-Grössen und -Mittelwerten für die Transport-/Retardationsparameter zu erhalten. Jedoch stellen diese Modellwerte nicht immer die einzig mögliche Lösung dar und die Modelle liefern keine detaillierten Informationen darüber, wo die eigentliche Retardation stattfindet. Die Extrapolation von einem Ort oder Fliesssystem zu einem anderen mit unterschiedlichen Eigenschaften kann man nur machen, wenn man die zugrunde liegenden Prozesse versteht.

Dies ist insofern von zentraler Bedeutung, da in der Praxis die Geosphäre um ein geologisches Tiefenlager für radioaktive Abfälle nicht allumfassend erkundet werden kann, weil dort die günstigen Eigenschaften in einem möglichst ungestörten Umfeld aufrechterhalten werden müssen. Demzufolge ist es wichtig, die wirksamen Faktoren für den In-situ-Radionuklidtransport und die -retardation genau zu kennen, um Extrapolationen zu nahegelegenen oder ähnlichen Standorten, wo solche Beschränkungen nicht bestehen, vornehmen zu können. Als Folge dieser Strategie wurde von der Nagra and JAEA mit dem EP-Experiment ein weiterer Versuch durchgeführt, der einen Schritt weiter ging als das MI-Experiment. 

Das Nagra-JAEA Exkavationsprojekt (Excavation Project EP) war ein herausforderndes Projekt, bei dem erstmals Cocktails stark sorbierender Radionuklide mit komplexer Chemie in eine wasserführende Scherzone injiziert und anschliessend der getracerte Anteil der Scherzone exkaviert wurde (etwa zwei Tonnen Gestein). Die Komplexität des Projekts und der Massstab des In-situ-Versuchs erforderten die Entwicklung, Verbesserung und den Test neuer Methoden und Techniken. Der erhebliche Aufwand, der zur Gewährleistung eines erfolgreichen Versuchs unternommen wurde, umfasste eine Reihe von Labor- und Feldversuchen im FLG, letztere – wann immer möglich – unter Bedingungen, die möglichst genau denjenigen des endgültigen Experiments entsprachen.

Das Exkavationsprojekt (Excavation Project EP) begann 1990 mit einer Machbarkeitsstudie (Phase I) und wurde mit einer umfangreichen Kampagne aus Labor- und Feldtests (Phase II) zwischen 1994 und 1996 fortgeführt. Der vorliegende Schlussbericht fasst die Arbeiten der Phase III zusammen, diese bestanden aus:

  • Injektion vier verschiedener Radionuklidcocktails in die EP-Testzone, die in der Testscherzone AU96 (MI-Scherzone) im FLG eingerichtet wurde
  • Kontinuierliches Monitoring des Radionuklidtracerdurchbruchs bei der Extraktionsbohrung mit nachfolgender Stabilisierung des die retardierten Radionuklide enthaltenen Gesteinsvolumens durch In-situ-Harzimprägnierung
  • Exkavation des stabilisierten Gesteinsvolumens durch scherzonenparalleles Überbohren zur Probengewinnung für Laboruntersuchungen
  • Radiochemische Analysen von Gesteinsproben aus der Scherzone und detaillierte strukturelle geologische Untersuchungen der Fliesspfadgeometrie innerhalb des Dipols

Eine der Zielsetzungen des EP-Experiments war die Untersuchung des Verhaltens sicherheitsrelevanter Radionuklide, d. h. von Nukliden, die in der Sicherheitsanalyse für Kristallin-1 der Nagra und in derjenigen für TRU-I von JAEA behandelt wurden. Die endgültige Auswahl der Radionuklide umfasste:
 

238U, 235U and 234U:sicherheitsrelevant

237Np:sicherheitsrelevant

99Tc:sicherheitsrelevant

152Eu:wird als gutes chemisches Analogon für andere Lanthanide und dreiwertige Aktinide erachtet

60Co:gutes chemisches Analogon für das sicherheitsrelevante 59Ni, welches leichter zu beschaffen und einfacher zu bestimmen ist als 59Ni

75Se:vollständiges chemisches Analogon für das sicherheitsrelevante 79Se, jedoch wesentlich kürzere Halbwertszeit (120 Tage gegenüber 65 ka)

113Sn:vollständiges chemisches Analogon für das sicherheitsrelevante 126Sn, jedoch wesentlich kürzere Halbwertszeit (115 Tage gegenüber 100 ka)

stabiles Mo:vollständiges chemisches Analogon für das sicherheitsrelevante 93Mo (Halbwertszeit 3.5 ka)

Überschlagsberechnungen zeigten, dass aufgrund der geringen Löslichkeiten dieser Radionuklide im Grundwasser-/Gesteinssystem des FLG, die Aktivitäten der in der Scherzone wahrscheinlich zurückgehaltenen Radionuklide weit unter der Nachweisgrenze für alle damals zur Verfügung gestandenen oberflächenanalytischen und radiochemischen Methoden liegen würden. Demzufolge wurde beschlossen, den Versuchsaufbau abzuändern, indem wesentlich höhere Radionuklidkonzentrationen als unter normalen Löslichkeitsbedingungen erwartet mithilfe von angesäuerten Lösungen in das System injiziert wurden. Dadurch waren zwar die geochemischen Bedingungen des Systems nicht mehr realistisch, die gewonnenen Informationen über die Transportpfade (markiert durch die Radionuklide) waren dennoch sehr aufschlussreich für den Test der konzeptuellen Transportmodelle in komplexen Fliesssystemen.

Zur Bestimmung der Fliessweggeometrie war ursprünglich geplant, einfach Harz in das Fliessfeld zu injizieren, dieses Vorhaben wurde jedoch aufgrund der folgenden beiden Gründe aufgegeben:

  • Es gab Hinweise, dass das Harz aufgrund dessen eingeschränkter Viskosität und Polymerisation keine sekundären Fliesspfade imprägnieren würde.
  • Man ging davon aus, dass die Durchführung eines solchen Versuchs mit sicherheitsrelevanten Radionukliden die erforderlichen Erfahrungen aufbauen würde, um künftige Studien innerhalb des schweizerischen und japanischen Untersuchungsprogramms hinsichtlich ähnlicher endlagerrelevanter Systeme durchführen zu können. Zudem erhöhte die Erfahrung im Umgang mit hohen Aktivitäten und α-Strahlern das Vertrauen in die generellen Möglichkeiten für erfolgreiche Versuche in anderen Felslabors

Das Verhalten der Radionuklide als solche im Fliesssystem kann nicht direkt in den Berechnungen einer Sicherheitsanalyse verwendet werden, sie erwiesen sich jedoch als unerlässlich in der Kartierung tatsächlich vorhandener Fliesspfade in diesem hochkomplexen Fliesssystem im FLG. Die Analyse der mit den Radionukliden markierten Fliesspfade zeigte deutlich den Einfluss von «double porosity transport» und die Komplexität von Fluss und Retardation in drei Dimensionen (3D), dort wo grössere Bereiche mit Kluftfüllungen eine wichtige Rolle spielen. Die Bedeutung der Retardation in der Kluftfüllung im Vergleich zur Matrix für stark retardierende Radionuklide darf nicht vernachlässigt werden. Somit kann man möglicherweise vorhersagen, dass stark sorbierende Radionuklide nur eine geringe Chance haben bis zur Matrix zu gelangen, da so viele Möglichkeiten für eine Retardation im Kluftfüllungsmaterial vorhanden sind.

Reden Sie mit und besuchen Sie uns.

Diskutieren Sie mit

Telefon

+41 56 437 11 11


©2021 Nagra, Nationale Genossenschaft für die Lagerung radioaktiver Abfälle