Search

Rapport Technique NTB 88-17

Recherches sur l'aptitude des sites à accueillir un dépôt final de déchets faiblement et moyennement radioactifs Rapport sur l'état des recherches Phase 1, pour le site potentiel du Bois de la Glaive (Commune d'Ollon, VD)

Order

  • hard copy, French
    CHF 30.00

Download

Details

On 30th September 1985, site suitability investigations with a view to disposal of low- and intermediate-level radioactive waste were licensed by the Federal Government at three locations –Bois de la Glaive (Canton Vaud), Oberbauenstock (Canton Uri) and Piz Pian Grand (Canton Graubünden). This report presents the status of the investigations at Bois de la Glaive as at the end of 1987 and discusses the results of the programme.

The investigations planned for Bois de la Glaive were outlined in the programme report NTB 86-16 and were aimed primarily at determining the geometry of the anhydrite host rock, i.e. locating the position of its upper boundary with the so-called gypsum cap and of its lower boundary. The large extent of the anhydrite formation predicted by Nagra formed the basis for selecting Bois de la Glaive as a potential site but was disputed by the experts from the community of Ollon. The investigations started with detailed geological surface mapping of the area of interest and this provided the basis for future work.

Because of the opposition at Ollon, none of the investigations subject to authorization have been carried out, even though these investigations had been approved by the Federal Government on 30th September 1985. Nevertheless, various investigations not requiring a licence have provided a considerable store of data. The details of the work actually carried out are as follows: (i) Detailed geological mapping of the earth is surface over an area of 22.5 km2 on a scale of 1:5000. This study included the first geological recording of the Galerie de Salin (Salin drift) which formed part of an 18th-century mine. (ii) The existing hydrogeological data on the area were compiled and provided a first impression of the overall hydrogeological conditions. (iii) The provisional concept of a possible repository at Bois de la Glaive and of the corresponding exploration gallery was elaborated under the point of view of civil engineering and the long-term behaviour of the host rock was assessed qualitatively.

The geological investigations carried out between 1984 and 1987 confirm the existence of a relatively extensive gypsum-anhydrite formation at Bois de la Glaive and support the assumption that, beneath the 20 to 40 m thick gypsum cover, the anhydrite probably extends several hundred metres in a vertical direction. The results of the investigations also justify the assumption that the anhydrite at Bois de la Glaive is relatively homogeneous with a small proportion of lenses of accompanying rock (with small dimensions) and a low occurrence of fractures. The presence of tectonic lenses of extraneous rock is also unlikely.

From a hydrogeological point of view, it has been confirmed that the northern, western, southern and upper boundaries of the host rock are permeable formations. Given the present state of knowledge, it is not possible to predict the (hydro)geological conditions underlying the anhydrite. Because of its homogeneity, the host rock itself is practically impermeable.

The concomitant studies of the long-term behaviour of the anhydrite have shown that, with respect to waste material, the following two release scenarios are relevant and, if the pertinent geological situation is present, critical: (i) Radionuclide transport with deep groundwater along wedges of extraneous rock; (ii) Migration of the anhydrite-gypsum contact surface and associated karstification.

To summarise, based on the present stage of the investigations and on rock- resp. site-specific knowledge of the anhydrite as a host rock, there are no real reasons for ruling out the site. The results of the investigations have put Nagra in the position of being able to submit to the Federal Government a request for licensing of an exploratory drift and related investigations of the host rock also at the potential site of Bois de la Glaive. The investigations carried out up till now have shown clearly that, before construction of the drift is embarked upon, the field studies outlined in the investigation programme NTB 86-16 have to be carried out, at least to some extent, in order to improve the present state of knowledge.

Have your say and visit us.

Follow us

Telephone

+41 56 437 11 11


©2021 Nagra, National Cooperative for the Disposal of Radioactive Waste

Search

Rapport Technique NTB 88-17

Recherches sur l'aptitude des sites à accueillir un dépôt final de déchets faiblement et moyennement radioactifs Rapport sur l'état des recherches Phase 1, pour le site potentiel du Bois de la Glaive (Commune d'Ollon, VD)

Bestellung

  • gedruckt, französisch
    30,00 CHF

Download

Details

Der Bundesrat bewilligte am 30. September 1985 in drei Gebieten (Bois de la Glaive VD, Oberbauenstock UR und Piz Pian Grand GR) Untersuchungen zur Standorteignung im Hinblick auf die Endlagerung schwach- und mittelaktiver Abfälle. Im vorliegenden Bericht wird der Stand der Untersuchungen am potentiellen Standort Bois de la Glaive bis Ende 1987 dargestellt und die entsprechenden Ergebnisse werden erläutert und kommentiert.

Die geplanten Arbeiten am Bois de la Glaive, welche im Untersuchungsprogramm der Nagra NTB 86-16 aufgeführt sind, hatten primär zum Ziel, die Geometrie des Wirtgesteins Anhydrit zu erfassen, also seine Begrenzung nach oben durch den sogenannten Gipshut und die Lage seiner Basis. Die von der Nagra prognostizierte grosse Ausdehnung des Anhydritkörpers – die von den Experten der Gemeinde Ollon angezweifelt wurde – bildete die Grundannahme, auf welcher die Standortwahl Bois de la Glaive getroffen wurde. Diese geplanten Untersuchungen wurden durch die geologische Detailkartierung der Oberfläche des interessierenden Gebietes eingeleitet, welche eine wichtige Grundlage für die weiteren Untersuchungen bildet.

Wegen der Opposition der Gemeinde Ollon konnte bisher keine der bewilligungspflichtigen und vom Bundesrat am 30. September 1985 bewilligten Untersuchungen durchgeführt werden. Immerhin lieferten verschiedene nicht bewilligungspflichtige Untersuchungen eine bedeutende Datenmenge. Im Einzelnen wurden folgende Arbeiten geleistet: (i) Im Rahmen einer geologischen Detailkartierung der Erdoberfläche wurde eine 22.5 km2 ausgedehnte Fläche im Massstab 1:5'000 aufgenommen. Diese geologische Studie schloss eine erste geologische Aufnahme der Galerie de Salin – Teil einer ehemaligen Bergwerkanlage des XVIII. Jahrhunderts – ein. (ii) Die bestehenden hydrogeologischen Daten über das Untersuchungsgebiet wurden zusammengestellt und ein erstes Bild der allgemeinen hydrogeologischen Verhältnisse erarbeitet. (iii) Ein provisorisches bauliches Konzept für ein eventuelles Endlager am Bois de la Glaive und für den entsprechenden Sondierstollen wurde ausgearbeitet und eine qualitative Beurteilung des Langzeitverhaltens des Wirtgesteins vorgenommen.

Die von 1984 bis 1987 durchgeführten geologischen Untersuchungen bestätigen das Vorhandensein eines relativ ausgedehnten Gips-Anhydrit-Vorkommens am Bois de la Glaive und untermauern die Annahme, dass die vertikale Ausdehnung des Anhydrits unter einem rund 20 – 40 m mächtigen Gipshut wahrscheinlich mehrere hundert Meter beträgt. Diese Untersuchungen rechtfertigen auch die Annahme, dass der Anhydrit am Bois de la Glaive relativ homogen ist, mit einem kleinen Anteil an Begleitgesteinslinsen und kleinen Abmessungen solcher Linsen sowie spärlicher Klüftung. Das Vorhandensein von tektonisch eingeschobenen Fremdgesteinslinsen ist ebenfalls wenig wahrscheinlich.

Unter dem hydrogeologischen Gesichtspunkt hat sich bestätigt, dass der Wirtgesteinskörper nach Norden, Westen und Süden sowie nach oben durch durchlässige Formationen begrenzt ist. Eine Prognose über die (hydro-) geologischen Verhältnisse im Liegenden des Anhydrits ist aufgrund der heutigen Kenntnisse nicht möglich. Wegen seiner Homogenität dürfte das Wirtgestein selbst praktisch undurchlässig sein.

Die begleitenden Studien über das Langzeitverhalten des Anhydrits zeigten, dass für die Abfallstoffe die beiden folgenden Freisetzungsszenarien relevant und – bei Vorhandensein entsprechender geologischer Situation – kritisch sind: (i) Radionuklidtransport durch das Tiefengrundwasser entlang ausgedehnter Fremdgesteinsschuppen, (ii) Wanderung der Kontaktfläche Anhydrit – Gips und damit verbundene fortschreitende Verkarstung.

Zusammenfassend lässt sich aufgrund des jetzigen Standes der Untersuchungen sowie der gesteins- und standortspezifischen Kenntnisse über den Anhydrit als Wirtgestein festhalten, dass keine Hinweise für stichhaltige Ausschlussgründe vorliegen. Diese Ergebnisse haben die Nagra veranlasst, dem Bundesrat auch für den potentiellen Standort Bois de la Glaive die Bewilligung zum Vortrieb eines Sondierstollens sowie Erkundung des Wirtgesteins aus diesem Stollen zu beantragen. Die bisher durchgeführten Untersuchungen haben indessen verdeutlicht, dass die Durchführung der im Untersuchungsprogramm NTB 86-16 vorgesehenen und vom Bundesrat am 30. September 1985 bewilligten Feldarbeiten zur Verbesserung des Kenntnisstandes vor der Aufnahme des Stollenvortriebs zumindest zum Teil unerlässlich ist.

Reden Sie mit und besuchen Sie uns.

Diskutieren Sie mit

Telefon

+41 56 437 11 11


©2021 Nagra, Nationale Genossenschaft für die Lagerung radioaktiver Abfälle