Search

Rapport Technique NTB 87-01

Thermodynamique du gonflement de systèmes eau-bentonite, eau-métabentonite, eau-illite

Order

  • hard copy, French
    CHF 20.00

Download

Details

The water vapour adsorption isotherms and enthalpies of immersion of 15 samples of natural clays (bentonites, metabentonites and illites) in water have been measured at 20°C. The aim of these measurements was firstly to study the influence of ultrasonic treatment of the solids, and secondly to observe the change in water adsorption at different stages in the illitisation process of montmorillonite.

As regards the ultrasonic treatment, we can assert that it has little influence on the different samples, with the exception of the metabentonite "B". This shows an important increase in its BET surface area and micropore volume, and in the swelling pressure at every degree of hydration. The other solids, on the contrary, show a small decrease in both the BET surface area and the swelling pressure at low water contents. At higher degrees of hydration, the swelling pressure increases after ultrasonic treatment, as pointed out by Kahr and Müller-Vonmoos. However, it is not possible to derive information valid for other degrees of hydration from measurements obtained for a specific water content.

We also observed that adsorption depends strongly on the K+ content of the clay. The higher the content, the weaker the adsorption, and a corresponding decrease is observed for the swelling pressure and the heat of immersion in water.

Finally, owing to the difficulty of finding a suitable mathematical fit to describe the enthalpy change with the amount of pre-adsorbed water, the problem of the entropy of the water molecules is only dealt with in a qualitative way.

Have your say and visit us.

Follow us

Telephone

+41 56 437 11 11


©2021 Nagra, National Cooperative for the Disposal of Radioactive Waste

Search

Rapport Technique NTB 87-01

Thermodynamique du gonflement de systèmes eau-bentonite, eau-métabentonite, eau-illite

Bestellung

  • gedruckt, französisch
    20,00 CHF

Download

Details

Die Wasserdampf-Adsorptionsisothermen und die Immersionsenthalpien von 15 natürlichen Tonen (Bentonite, Metabentonite und Illite) wurden bei 20°C gemessen. Durch diese Messungen sollte einerseits der Einfluss der Ultraschallbehandlung auf diese Tone und andererseits die Änderung der Wasserdampfadsorption der verschiedenen Illitisierungsstufen der Metabentonite studiert werden.

Die Beschallung der verschiedenen Proben, mit Ausnahme des Metabentonits B, beeinflusst die Wasseraufnahme wenig. Der Metabentonit B zeigt eine ziemlich grosse Zunahme der BET-Oberfläche, des Porenvolumens und der berechneten Quelldrücke bei allen Wassergehalten. Die anderen Proben wiesen eher eine Verminderung der Oberfläche und der berechneten Quelldrücke bei geringen Hydrationsgraden auf, zeigten aber bei höheren Wassergehalten eine Zunahme der berechneten Quelldrücke mit der Ultraschallbehandlung, in Übereinstimmung mit den Ergebnissen von Kahr und Müller­Vonmoos. Es ist jedoch nicht möglich, aus der Messung bei einem bestimmten Wassergehalt Voraussagen über das Verhalten bei allen anderen Wasserdampfspannungen zu machen.

Es wurde beobachtet, dass die Wasseradsorption stark vom Kaliumgehalt der Tone beeinflusst wird. Je höher dieser ist, umso kleiner wird das Adsorptiongsvermögen, zudem findet eine Abnahme des Quelldruckes und der Immersionsenthalpie statt.

Durch die Schwierigkeit, ein gutes mathematisches Modell für die Änderung der Immersionsenthalpien als Funktion des voradsorbierten Wassers zu finden, konnte die Entropie der adsorbierten Wassermoleküle nicht detailliert diskutiert werden. Deshalb beschränkten wir uns auf qualitative Überlegungen.

Reden Sie mit und besuchen Sie uns.

Diskutieren Sie mit

Telefon

+41 56 437 11 11


©2021 Nagra, Nationale Genossenschaft für die Lagerung radioaktiver Abfälle